Review: When Empires Fall by Katie Jennings

I met Katie a few months again, and she’s a lovely woman!  Her new novel, When Empires Fall, was released on the 10th.  Before it was released, Katie so graciously sent me an ARC to read.  Unfortunately, I’m just now getting around to finishing and reviewing the book.  But here’s the review.

5 Stars!

When Empires Fall is a story full of suspense!  It follows the Vassar family as they run their hotels and deal with a secret that can tear their family apart and destroy their legacy.

Grant is the general manager who is a workaholic.  His brother, Linc, is the “playboy” of the family, and his sister, Madison, is the spitting image of their grandfather, Cyrus.  Not only are they dealing with the secret that makes itself known by their “deadbeat” father but they have to deal with the fact that there are more secrets and lies than they could ever imagine within their family.

Quinn – Grant’s new secretary – comes into the picture, and he finds himself needing her more than he is comfortable with.  But he finds himself opening up and discovering his true self again with her.  And it scares him.  Lynette is the politician’s daughter who finds herself utterly drawn to Linc when she doesn’t have time for romance.  But she can’t stay away from him, and he can’t stay away from her.
When Empires Fall kept me begging for more.  I had fallen under the trap of the Vassar’s and I wanted more of them and their lives.  I wanted to be part of their story, and Katie did not disappoint in the keeping the suspense aspect of the story tremendously suspenseful and the romance aspect tremendously romantic!

About Katie: (Taken from Goodreads)

Nothing can compare to the exhilaration of discovering, at last, a mode of release for the imagination. Mine came, after years of struggling to visualize my creativity, in the form of written word. I found myself with my nose constantly in a book, absorbing the life of the characters and the beauty of the setting. It was intoxicating, to say the least, and the only thing I knew was that I wanted to give writing a shot, and take the thousands of characters and storylines in my head and put them down on paper, and form them into something real and compelling. After over ten years of playing around with short stories and plot ideas, both ones that worked and ones that failed, I finished a full novel, and then consequently four novels in the same series. The feeling of accomplishment, as any author will tell you, is unbelievable.

In truth, I’m just a girl from a small town north of Los Angeles, with an imagination for days and thank goodness a keyboard at my fingertips. And even though my husband thinks I’m a nerd and my mom is undoubtedly my biggest fan, at the end of the day I’m loving life and enjoying giving breath to the characters living in my heart, and sharing with others all the creativity I can harness.

I believe in true love, and I’ve always believed in happy endings. And that is just the beginning of the story.

Purchase your copy on Amazon.

Add to your Goodreads list.

5 comments on “Review: When Empires Fall by Katie Jennings

Leave a Reply

