In Memory of Emily Patterson by Matt Patterson, her father

22 years ago today, Matt Patterson and his wife lost a daughter to cancer.  Years later, he turned his grief and Emily’s story into a novel, My Emily.  I was fortunate enough to be gifted a copy by my good friend, Matt, for Christmas last year.  It took me a few months to bring myself to read the story because I knew it was going to be sad.  However, upon reading it, I couldn’t help but count my blessings and pray that nothing would ever happen to my family like that.  I posted a review of the book, which you can read here.
Today, Matt is offering her story for free on Kindle.  I hope that you will all go grab a copy and read this touching story.

 

This is from Matt:

It’s so very hard to believe we lost our Emily 22 years ago today. September is never easy for us as it also plays host to Childhood Cancer Awareness Month.

Today, on the anniversary of her passing, our little effort is to let others know of Emily’s story. We are offering the Kindle format of MY EMILY for FREE – TODAY ONLY.

All I ask is that you share this with your friends, family and those who, perhaps, may be walking the same path that we have traveled.

Thank you so much! God bless …

Buy Link for My Emily

As we approach this day – we ask that you share with your friends this little video – to remind each of us that there are so many little ones battling cancer. We miss our Emily. She has a legacy to touch others. We pray you’ll take a minute or so to watch this video.

Thank you so much and God bless.

6 comments on “In Memory of Emily Patterson by Matt Patterson, her father

  1. Dear Matt,

    I am so glad that your shared this on Emerald’s blog and this is such a touching tribute to your daughter. I have your book, and it was a very touching and beautiful story and I can only imagine it can never be easy, but I appreciate what you and your family go through September being the time you lost her and trying to play host to Childhood Cancer awareness month. I will most definitely share the video on my page in her honor. God bless you and your family! God bless you also Emerald Barnes for placing it on your blog!

    Syl Stein

      • Dear Emerald,

        Your most welcome and I am glad you shared this. It is a very Moving story, I also wish I could of known her! Wow, God bless Emily ( she is an angel of God) and God bless you and her family!

        Syl Stein

    • Never mind. I read that the proceeds go to families of those battling the diseases. I had a sister who died from Leukemia at age 7; I was five. It was right before St. Jude’s opened their doors. I have always contributed to the Leukemia Society and St. Judes. They are close to my heart. I, myself, was recently diagnosed with Essential Thrombocythemia and Polycythemia Vera, two rare blood disorders. Thank you for publishing the book and I will be reviewing the book soon on my webpage.

Leave a Reply

