The Claddagh Ring

Two hands tenderly, tightly hold the heart.

Upon the head of the heart lies a crown.

Three stages of ones life which are a part

Of time.  Friendship, love, loyalty are found.

When the heart points outward on the right hand,

Someone please take me, my heart will be yours.

If the heart points inward on the same hand,

No, my heart is taken and out love pours.

On the left ring finger, with the heart out,

My heart is waiting on one for ever.

When the heart faces heart, there is no doubt.

My heart belongs to someone forever.

Single, taken, engaged, or married,

The legend of the Claddagh ring tarried.

This is my attempt at a sonnet. 🙂

Leave a Reply

