One Night Amidst the Stars

This is the beginning of my first science fiction/fantasy short story.  I’m not sure how it’s going to turn out just yet, but here it is.😛

It never occurred to me that my immortality would be the death of me.  I knew I could live forever, so there were very few things I feared.  That was at least until I met him.

I fell in love with him one night amidst the stars, figuratively not literally of course, but then I showed them to him.  I took him high up into the midnight sky.  They twinkled much like his eyes.

~

The night was dark on this planet.  The stars were dim, and where was their moon?  On our planet, we had three: one large one and two smaller ones circling it.  It was absolutely breath-taking.  At least this planet had a similar atmosphere.  There was more oxygen but not much more.  She could easily walk about this planet safely.

I sat in my ship – more of an escape pod than anything – looking into the dark.  I wondered where I had landed.  I hadn’t pick a specific destination; I just left.  It was best for everyone this way.

I thought I should probably sleep, but there wasn’t any way I could calm my conflicted mind.  There was too much to think about.  Too much to do.  Just too much.

I knew I must sleep.  My body was quickly depleting of strength.  The day had been an exhausting one, and it was too dark to explore the planet anyway.  It would have to wait ‘til morning.  If there was a morning here.  I would just have to find out.

~

My alarm clock was a little too loud this morning.  I quickly turned it off and laid in bed for a moment.  Rex, my border collie, was snoring at my feet.  Outside, the sun had just risen.  I didn’t want to get out of bed, but I did anyway.

I turned on the lamp on the nightstand and slipped out of bed.  Rex looked up at me and then closed his eyes again.  I walked to the bathroom, relieved myself, washed my hands, and then went into the kitchen to make breakfast.

I started the coffee brewing and then made myself a bowl of cornflakes.  I sat down at the small dining room table and ate my cereal.  Afterwards, I placed my empty bowl and spoon in the sink and called Rex into the kitchen where I fed him.

While he was eating, I dressed in a pair of old jeans, a long sleeved t-shirt, and work boots.  By the time he finished dressing, Rex was finished eating.  I rubbed the top of his head, and we walked outside by way of the backdoor.

The morning was chilly, and dew dampened my boots.  Rex ran ahead of me, sniffing the ground and enjoying the cool morning.  I couldn’t blame him.  It was a beautiful morning.  The sun shone brightly, and the clouds floated aimlessly in the bright blue sky.  I couldn’t help but smile.

Rex and I walked down the dirt path leading through the woods and to the lake on my property.  The sun was shining brightly on the water.  I squinted my eyes but enjoyed the setting in front of me.  I was always thankful for the beautiful land I owned.

Rex stopped and started barking furiously.  I looked in the direction he was barking at and saw a young woman cowering behind a tree, terrified at the gentle dog warning his owner of an intruder.

“Rex, hush,” I said gently, walking up to Rex.  He immediately fell quiet.  I patted him on the head as I reached him and said, “Good boy.”

Then, I called out the woman, “Hello.”

She looked up at me with scared eyes.  “It’s all right.  I’m not going to hurt you.”

I felt like I was talking to small child.  I walked a little closer, as she stood up straight.

“Who are you?” she asked.

“Blake Ford, ma’am.”

“Blake Ford.”

“Yes.   Nice to meet you.”

She nodded.  “What’s your name?” I asked.

“Ariyana.”  She had a strange accent.  One I’d never heard before.  It didn’t sound British or Scottish, German or Dutch, and it definitely wasn’t a Southern accent like mine or even a Northern one.

“Where you from, Miss?” I asked.

“Where am I?” she asked instead of answering me.

“Amory.”

“Where’s Amory?”

“In Mississippi.”

I was a bit confused.  Surely this girl knew she was in Mississippi, if she had shown up on my property this morning.

“Where’s Mississippi?  What galaxy?”

“What on earth are you talkin’ about?”

“Earth?  Am I on Earth?”

“Um, yeah.”

“I’ve read about this place.  It’s nothing like what I’ve read.”

“Where are you from?” I asked again.  She sounded as if she were from a different planet.  Of course, she was probably some psycho who showed up on my property in the middle of the night escaping from some psychiatric ward.

“What have you read?” I asked.

“There is only war and madness.”

“Not in all places here.”

“Of course war and madness is everywhere.  I never knew I would meet such a nice human.”

I stared back at her, wondering how come such a beautiful woman had lost her mind.  She was so very beautiful.  She had long blond curls which looked kind of purple in the bright sunlight.  She was wearing a silver dress made of what looked like the finest silk.  There was only one strap over her left shoulder, and on her right arm was some kind of strange tribal looking tattoo.  It ran up and down her arm.  It was similar to a vine with intricate purple leaves and symbols he’d never seen before on the purple vine.  It was extraordinary.

She walked closer to me; It was almost as if she were studying me.  She might have been for all I knew.

“You are very strange looking,” she said.

“So are you.”

In fact, she really was.  She had these strange eyes.  Her pupils were silver and her irises, purple.

“Are you wearing contacts?” I had to ask.

“What are these contacts you ask about?”

“You put them in your eyes to see better, and some people wear them to change their eye color.”

“Why would I change my eye color?”

“I don’t know, but I’ve never seen anyone with purple and silver eyes.”

“I’ve never seen anyone with green and black eyes.”

“Are you really from another planet?” I asked.

“Yes,” she answered.

I still wasn’t sure I believed her, but I wanted to.

“Can you tell me what planet?  Jupiter, Mars, Saturn?”

“No.  Those aren’t inhabited.”

“There are more planets?”

“Yes.  Galaxies full of planets exist.  Maybe more.”

“You’re kiddin’ me.”

“What does that mean?”

“It’s like a joke.”

“Joke?”

“Kinda like lyin’ for fun.”

“Why would someone lie for fun?”

“Because it’s funny.”

“Lying is not funny.”

“It can be,” I said laughing.

She stared back at me, not saying a word.

Leave a Reply

