It’s Not the Street I Usually Go Down…

The journaling software I use gives me prompts to get my writing jump started.  I went through a couple before finally deciding that I wanted to write with the prompt “It’s not the street I usually go down.  But for some reason, that day I turned down a different road.”  Besides it being grammatically incorrect “…down.  But for…”  (It’s should be “…down, but for…”)  it sounded like I could actually use it somehow in order to write a story, or at the very least, help me get the brain functioning which trust me, it hasn’t been doing enough of that lately.

With a new nephew here and with my two nieces being 2 and 1, I’ve made excuses in not writing.  Trust me, I’m not complaining about spending time with them because I love them and spending time with them more than anything else, but I could’ve found the time to write.  Instead of watching Season 1 of “How I Met Your Mother” or reading Amanda Hocking’s Trylle Trilogy at night, I could’ve been working on edits or writing short stories.  Anyway, after that tangent, I will get back on topic now.

Prompts:  What are they?  How do they help?  Where can you find them?

Well, I’m sure you all know what they are, and I won’t belittle your intelligence by describing them in grueling detail, but how do they help?

From my experience, I rarely use prompts.  I don’t know why, but that’s the case.  I wish that I was more determined to use them.  In fact, last night as I was thinking about this blog post, I thought. “Hmm… maybe I should just find a lot of writing prompts and journal at least an extended paragraph using the prompt I find and making an outline for a possible short story, novella, or novel every day.”  I think that I had a pretty good idea there, and I really do need to write more.  Who knows?  The next great American Novel could come from my journaling.  (Trust me, I’m not conceited enough to think that of myself, but for someone else, it’s definitely possible.)

So, writing prompts…where do you find them?

http://www.writersdigest.com/WritingPrompts

I am a huge fan of Writer’s Digest.  They offer good articles about writing as well as writing prompts.  You can find most of their articles online without actually subscribing to their magazine, but I love their magazine as well.🙂

and

http://www.writingfix.com/classroom_tools/dailypromptgenerator.htm

To be honest, I just Google searched this one.  It seems like it could be a good site though.   The first random one I found was this:  “Why is going in a circle so much fun?  Write a story/poem that begins and ends with a merry-go-round ride.”  It seems fun.  :P   Although, maybe not for someone with vertigo.  That is precisely why I avoid merry-go-rounds.  Hmm… seems like an interesting idea for a story though. 😉

A google search should be helpful in searching for more prompts, but these are good places to start I think.

What if writing prompts aren’t for you?  Well, then I guess they aren’t.  Lol.  I, mean, obviously you can write without them.  I do most of the time, but I do think I’ll start trying more often to journal with prompts.  What can it hurt?  Surely, it can’t hurt more than help.  It may be time consuming, but writing is a time consuming process.  More than anything, I think the editing process is more painful and time consuming than actually writing the story.  (That is another post for another time though.)

Anyway, I hope that although writing prompts may not be “the street [you] usually go down,” I do hope that it will prove to be constructive in your writing and/or journaling endeavors.

2 thoughts on “It’s Not the Street I Usually Go Down…

  1. Pingback: Writer’s Block | Dreaming Awake

  2. Pingback: Round and Round We Go | Emerald Barnes' Dreaming Awake Blog

Leave a Reply

