Writing Prompt Week 1

I have decided to try something new.  Each week, along with a writing article, I will post a writing prompt.  I have been thinking about writing prompts and how they could get the creative juices flowing.  I have also decided that I will start journaling more often using writing prompts myself.  So, in hopes that it helps everyone else out as well, I want to post a writing prompt.

This weeks: “Who is that?  Your character is standing at the sink washing dishes.  When s/he looks out the window, s/he sees someone in the backyard staring back.  Who is it?  What is s/he doing?”

In just a few paragraphs (or more if you wish), set the scene.  Feel free to share what you have written or what your immediate ideas are based on this prompt.  I would love to hear all the ideas!

What’s to come:  Along with weekly writing prompts, I will be posting my research on what’s called “morning pages.”  Many writers use this technique, but I never have.  Morning pages is when you sit down and journal as soon as you wake up.  You write what’s on your mind.  You dreams, thoughts, things to do that day, whatever you feel like really.  I’ve never done it, but they claim it really helps get your writing jump-started for the day.  So, I will be experimenting with this, and I will post about my experience with it.  If any of you have tried it before, please comment below and tell me what you think about writing “morning pages.”  I would love to hear the feedback. 😀

This is what my computer usually looks like while I’m trying to write.  A snack, pen, and paper with ideas on it. 😛

Leave a Reply

