Writing Challenge: Dream Journal

I’ve had this dream echoing through my memory since I had it a couple of nights ago.  I now know that I have to make it into a short story, so I’m working on that.

But, my writing challenge is this.  For at least a week, write down your dreams as you remember them in the morning.  Take what you remember and see if you can make any of the dreams into a story.  That’s where most of my ideas come from actually.  They’re echoes of dreams coming to reality… well fiction.😉

I’m sure that there are a lot of people who do this, but it helps me a lot.  Even if my dreams are mundane and won’t make good stories, the actual process of remembering them and writing them down is good practice for details.

Anyone ever take their dreams and make them into stories?  How does that work for you?

2 thoughts on “Writing Challenge: Dream Journal

  1. With a baby and a 4-year-old in the house, plus a husband working shiftwork, I don’t generally get more than 4 hours sleep a night. I don’t even remember the last time I dreamed. (t least, I never remember them when I wake up to the sound of crying!) I think I’ll leave this challenge for another 6 months or so.

    Good luck with it!

    Like

    1. Well that is definitely understandable! I’m just a fan of the dream journal, but I’m single with no kids! My dreams are so vivid, and I get some of my best stories from them! Well, they’re best to me. lol

      My sister and her husband have 3. Two girls ages 2 1/2 and 1 1/2 and a three month old boy! I’m blessed to see them everyday, but I don’t have to wake with them at night! I know when I babysit them at night sometimes I don’t even have time to write. I’m amazed you find the time!😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

