A Week in Writing: Suffering from “Lack of Motivation” to Actually Making Progress with Something

A little over a week ago, I read a post by Jo Eberhardt over at The Happy Logophile where she was discussing her writing.  I had noticed that she kept discussing her 100 Words for a 100 Days writing challenge.  Finally, I decided that I needed to do just that as well, especially after a gentle prompting of “Do it! Do it! Do it!”  I have only been doing it for four days, but in those four days, I have written a total of 2,869 words.  And I definitely don’t regret it, Jo!

What I noticed… It’s hard to just write a 100 words once you find the time to actually sit down and write, but when I don’t feel like writing, if I keep to this challenge, at least I will have written something.  Seems like a win/win to me.

The week before last, I suffered from LACK OF MOTIVATION.  Not easily curable, let me tell you, especially when you’re having a hard time deciding whether you should kill one of your favorite characters or not.  I discuss that here.  It was a tough decision to make, but it was one that I had to deal with.  Eventually, when I got past that decision, my writing has flowed a little better, and it doesn’t hurt to have a small goal to reach every day.  I would strongly suggest the 100 words challenge.

My work in progress is a complete makeover of my second novel.  I’m not just flowering up what I’ve already written.  It wasn’t working, so I am re-writing it and only keeping certain key points.  As Laura Stanfill discussed on revision during a guest post on my blog, I am identifying the problems of my novel as well.  (I’m still working on my premise though! I foresee many more revisions of this novel, so I’m sure that I’ll come up with it hopefully soon!)

Something to keep me motivated was receiving my free copy of Blue Legs & Other Coming of Age Stories in which my short story, Wishes, was published!  This is the first time I’ve seen my name in print!  (Well almost, I have been published in my Alma Mater’s literary journal, The Dilettanti, and I wrote for a new magazine where I published inspirational fiction in it.  Anyway, I consider this my first actual accomplishment other than self-publishing an e-book on Kindle.)  It was an amazing experience, especially when that story had been rejected a good many times before finally being accepted!

    Wishes

This week, I even worked on a new book trailer for my novella, “Piercing Through the Darkness.”  (I had to plug it somehow!)

I’m still waiting to hear back about my flash fiction piece, “Paranoia.”  Hopefully I’ll hear something soon about whether it’s being published or not.

All in all, it wasn’t a bad week, and I feel somewhat accomplished.  How was your week?

 

 

5 thoughts on “A Week in Writing: Suffering from “Lack of Motivation” to Actually Making Progress with Something

  1. Glad to hear that the 100 word challenge is working for you! I think one of the reasons it works so well is that you don’t miss a day and then get into that downward spiral of guilt & regret that makes it even harder to keep going the next day. You always feel like you’re accomplishing something, which keeps the good feelings flowing. (Or that’s how I feel, anyway!)

    Congrats on having so much great news to report.🙂

    Like

    1. Oh, you’re completely right about that! I didn’t have much free time to write today, but when I actually sat down and thought…”man, I have to write those 100 words today,” I felt better by just getting 136 words written. I may end up writing a little more, but since I met my small goal, I don’t feel like I ‘have’ to! Thanks for persuading me to try it!

      And thanks, it actually feels good have something worth reporting! 😀

      Like

  2. Pingback: Weekly Wednesday Writing Wrap-Up 13 | The Happy Logophile

Leave a Reply

