More on Good Reasons to Write a Bad First Draft

I follow the Write It Sideways blog.  Suzannah’s most recent post, 3 Fiction Writing Lessons from a Mock Wedding, is definitely worth a read if you haven’t read it all ready.

In her post she says, “Allow yourself to write a lousy first draft, knowing you can revisit it later as many times as you like, until it’s perfect to submit to a literary magazine or agent.”

I thought this would tie back in perfectly to what we were discussing in Jo’s guest post.  Check it out.  I think they’re all good tips, especially the “Writer’s Get Second Chances” part.  For that, I’m thankful!    I know I certainly need a Second Chance or even more. 😉

What do you think?

2 thoughts on “More on Good Reasons to Write a Bad First Draft

  1. That was an interesting post! The believability one is especially true; though it could be interesting to have your character “break character.” It’d be a good way to deepen the character in a way the reader isn’t expecting (well, so long as it isn’t too far out of character!).

    Like

    1. Oh I know. I was thinking about my revision, and how I certainly hope that my characters are very believable. I’m still actually dealing with that one, but that’s what I have readers for in the next revision stage.😉 But you’re so correct! It would be very interesting to have your character break character within the realm of believability.
      Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

Leave a Reply

