Auntie Em! Auntie Em!

  According to Savvy Auntie, today is Auntie’s Day.  I’m super excited!  My nieces and nephew aren’t old enough to really know that they’re celebrating a day specifically set aside for their aunt, as they’re only 2 1/2 years, 1 1/2 years, and 4 1/2 months old.  That’s okay.  It doesn’t matter to me.  What matters is that I have them in my life.

I don’t have children of my own, but I love my nieces and nephew like they’re my own.  It’s not news to my sister.  (She quite often accuses me of spoiling them. ;))  They mean the world to me, and I can’t imagine life without them.  I don’t want to either.

I would protect them even if it meant sacrificing my life for them.  I wouldn’t think twice about it.

 

Here are the reasons I love being Auntie Em!  (or Aunt Emi as they call me at times.)

  • Feeling them wrap their little arms around my neck just because they feel like giving me a hug.
  • The other day, my oldest niece crawled into my lap and said, “I need some Emerald time.”  That in itself is rewarding enough.
  • To hear their little feet climbing the stairs to my room and showing up saying, “I came up here so you could see me.”
  • Them walking to my books saying, “Can I read this?” even though they can’t read and “my books don’t have pictures.”  I have instilled a love of books in them, and for that, I’m so proud!
  • Getting a smile from my 4 1/2 month old nephew when I walk in the room and just say his name. 
  • I have gotten to be there for each of them through the most important times of their being: first smiles, first steps, first words, etc.  I’m truly blessed.

There are probably about a hundred more reasons, and I’m so proud to have such wonderful nieces and a nephew.  I look forward to many more years of being their Auntie.

So, to all of the Auntie’s out there, Happy Auntie’s Day!  If you aren’t an Auntie (or Uncle).  I hope you have the chance to be soon.  It’s very rewarding!

8 thoughts on “Auntie Em! Auntie Em!

  1. Great job! Helping kids to love reading means they’ll never be alone, or bored. That’s a pretty impressive gift. Mrs Dim always says that Aunties and Godparents are the people you run away to. Let your nephews and nieces know that you’re always there for them, and they’ll think of you first if they have to leave home. That’s a valuable gift for their parents too.

    Like

    1. Thanks for stopping by!

      Even though my nieces and nephew are so young, they know that they can always come to me if they need me. I’m proud that they realize that at such a young age. 🙂

      I love helping them read. It’s so sweet, and reading is such an important part of the learning process. And yes, they’ll never be bored or alone when it comes to reading, especially with me around. 🙂

      Like

  2. Those are some cuties! I lucked out in that my sister and I look and sound a lot alike. So even though I’ve hardly seen my little nephew, he still REALLY likes me, like, uh, way more than I deserve.🙂 Love it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

