Spencer Brokaw Discusses His Novel and Self-Publishing at the Age of 12

Spencer Brokaw

I had the honor of meeting Spencer Brokaw through Goodreads a few weeks ago.  There are a lot of young authors, but he is the youngest I’ve met so far.  I wanted to share his story about writing and self-publishing at such a young age. 

So, it is with great pleasure that I introduce Spencer Brokaw.

Can you tell us about yourself?

I’m Spencer Brokaw and I’m 12 years old. I published my first spy novel this year via Kindle Direct Publishing and Smashwords. I have been writing on my own time since around age 7. I love to read so I can get new ideas for books.

You wrote and self-published your spy novel, The Impenetrable Spy, at the age of 12.  Describe that for us.  How does it feel to be published at such a young age?

It feels great. It is very exciting to see my book on Kindle and Smashwords. When I started it, I thought that it would never get published. My only intentions were to entertain myself. I had been surfing the web for weeks and I finally found Kindle Direct Publishing. The same day I uploaded everything. I woke up the next day and my book was available on Kindle and it didn’t cost me anything. I was so excited. I got out of bed and ran into my mom and dad’s room to show them. Ever since then, I have been addicted to twitter sharing my story with other writers.

The Impenetrable Spy by Spencer Brokaw

Being so young, how long have you wanted to write?

I started writing at a young age and I never really stopped. I typed my first book “Agent J” at age 8. I then included Jack as a character in The Impenetrable Spy because I loved the character so much. I have always been serious about writing since then.

What was your inspiration for The Impenetrable Spy?

My inspiration was my dad. It was a boring summer evening and I began to write. I wrote up until the restaurant scene in the beginning of the book before stopping and letting my dad read it. He loved it, so I kept writing. Then, I didn’t revisit my book for a long time. I got addicted again and finished the last half of the book.

The funny thing is that when I first started, the book had a girl agent that helped Zack. The power went out and I was ticked because my writing was gone. I restarted it and made it to the restaurant scene as written above. I am so happy that the power went out. The book wouldn’t have turned out nearly as good with the girl and everything.

Do you have a certain writing routine?  How do you manage school work around your writing?

I normally write a little bit a day, that way my writing stays good. Managing it around schoolwork is a breeze because I don’t have that much homework. I normally come home and begin to write.

What have you learned about yourself or your writing so far?

I have learned that I definitely like to write and that it only gets better the more I write.

What are your ambitions?

My ambitions are for people to discover me and my website where I post about self-publishing and the writing process. I want to become a full time author when I’m older and hope to eventually see my books in bookstores.

About Spencer Brokaw: I am Spencer Brokaw and I am 12 years old (2011). I published my first book this year (The Impenetrable Spy).Writing is something I enjoy and I plan on writing a four part series. I enjoy writing fiction because I have control over the characters and the world they inhabit. I currently reside in Ohio. In my spare time I enjoy swimming, golfing, playing drums, and reading.

For More on Spencer:

You can follow his blog or his Tweets

His book is available on Kindle and Smashwords.

2 thoughts on “Spencer Brokaw Discusses His Novel and Self-Publishing at the Age of 12

    1. I know! I found it adorable too! He’s a sweet kid. He is all the time tweeting about others’ works to help get them noticed. He helps me with promoting my ebook quite often. I just had to support that sweet kid!

      Like

Leave a Reply

