Sometimes, you can’t help but write

If you follow my tweets or facebook or even have me circled on Google+, you’ll know that Friday night was a terrible night for me.  I received two emails within ten minutes of each other.  One was a rejection letter on my flash fiction piece (and it said the ending was a “cop-out”), and the other was a message from a reviewer about how my writing was “weak.”  It was already a terrible night to start with, and at this point, I was ready to call it quits.  I could live without writing.  Couldn’t I?  I had it all planned out.  I’d stop writing.  If no one liked it, then what was the point?   

That night I received messages from (actual) friends on facebook telling me that things would get better.  That I was a good writer and not to worry about it.  It’s not that easy though, but it was somewhat encouraging.

On Google+, I had other writers talking to me about how to deal with rejection.  They gave me some good advice, and I appreciate it so much.

I go to church with a writer of self-help books, Dr. J. Tim Neely, author of “Be Bold Now.”  He told me that for every yes he received, he received 400 no’s.  But he told me that even though he was rejected a lot, it was even harder to “not write.”  That even if I’m the only one who’s going to see it, it’s worth it to write.  We had a long chat before the service began, and it helped for me to hear what he was saying.  And you know?  He’s right.  Have you ever tried not writing?  It’s in your soul.  It’s who you are.

So, you know what I’m going to do now?  I’m going to write.  Because sometimes you can’t help but write.  Even if people believe my writing is weak.  It can only get stronger and better if I keep writing.

*On a side note, if you are interested in winning ebooks, including mine, there is a huge giveaway going on.  For more information, go here.  24 ebooks/48 winners!🙂

8 thoughts on “Sometimes, you can’t help but write

  1. I once ghosted for Mark Victor Hansen (Chicken Soup for the Soul) and his book was turned down by 39 publishers. Everyone said Chicken Soup was too soft and touchy feely to be a best seller. The didn’t give up. They are now in the Guiness Book of World Records for more books sold than any other author…..EVER!!!!! Write on!!!!

    Like

  2. Ah, don’t even try to stop. You’ll probably fail and keep on writing, and then you’ll feel bad to not being able to stop. 🙂

    Seriously, I may have directed you to this post of mine before (it is, I think, the one I refer to the most often), but it is very relevant here. Hope it speaks to your condition (as the Quakers say).
    http://u-town.com/collins/?p=392

    “The worst movie you ever saw? Well, my next one will be better!” (Ed Wood)

    Like

    1. Haha! I love that! I do have to say this. You’re right about one thing. I did fail because the very next day I wrote some more. It might be crap because I was in a terrible mood, but I didn’t give up on my word goal. 😉

      Great post, by the way, and no, I haven’t read it before. I’m glad you directed me there. Thank you. The quote by Orson Welles was amazing. (“Visions are worth fighting for,” he continues. “Why spend your life making someone else’s dreams?”) But I also like Ed Wood’s you mentioned above.

      Thanks for commenting. Made me feel better.🙂

      Like

  3. Ugh, your Friday sounds like The Worst! I had an R that day too. Actually, any weekday there’s no R in my mailbox, I worry my mail is broken. And I can’t tell my little writing group, because they get these puppy eyes, like, “You’re two books ahead of me, and If you can’t take it, or make it, how can I?”

    If you got a rejection with some specific advice, it might be a gift. After the sting is gone, you might begrudgingly write a killer new ending. OR, and I haven’t read the story, it could just be that the MC had the same name as the Rejector’s high school mean girl or some such, and also the sender was having the worst period of her life. <– Yes, I made that comment. I expect my feminist membership card will be revoked within hours! Ha ha!

    I've had a writing teacher scrawl "trite" in the margin of my heartfelt short story. I've had a friend tell me my first novel had "some good characters" and maybe I could "do something else with them." I was at a writing conference last fall, talking to two other writers on a bench, and a photographer came and squatted down to take our picture, but not mine. Just the two young, pretty girls beside me.

    I'm not gonna lie. I cried at all three of those things. Big girls do cry. Then they put on their big girl pants and get on with it though, right?

    Like

    1. Aww. I’d cry too. I can’t believe that photographer though. That’s just rude.

      Yes, we cry. I cried that night. But you’re correct. We do get on with it no matter how tough it is.

      I’m not going to lie. I’ve contemplated giving up writing more times than I can remember. Especially during my writing classes in college. My teacher put a big ‘X’ on around four pages and wrote comments like “UGH.” Plus a lot more that “killed me” for a lack of a better phrase.

      I haven’t looked back over the rejection email yet. I need to, but it still stings. When I’m over it, I’m going to look back at what there was to say and see if I can’t get something good and useful from it.

      Sorry you can’t talk to your writing group. I don’t even have a writing group. I should look into that… But I digress. Isn’t that what they are there for? Support?

      Like

      1. Oh ok. Well, that’s nice of you. 🙂 I’m quite the opposite. I’d like to know how the query stage is even as scary and daunting as it is. (I’ve only submitted short stories.) Querying an agent scares the mess out of me, but pretty soon, I’m going to have to do it. *yikes*

        Like

Leave a Reply

