Stealing the Moon

As a child, while traveling down the street in the backseat of my parents’ car with my head leaned against the cool glass of the window, I stared at the large, round moon following us home. (Yes, I was that naive.)  “I want the moon,” I said.  My parents laughed and said something along the lines of “okay” I’m sure.  My reply was “Papa can do.  He can climb a ladder and get it for me.”

A ladder to reach the moon by Laurent Laveder

Back then, I thought it was as simple as that.  My grandpa could climb his ladder and steal the moon for  me.  I had a lot of faith in my grandpa, and I wasn’t aware of how far away the moon was at that time.  I don’t even remember how old I was.  I just remember thinking “I want the moon.”

I still have a rather unnatural obsession with the moon.  It’s utterly beautiful.  My favorites are the large harvest moons that are like twice the normal size, orangey in color, and you can see all of the craters.  As the night progresses, it returns to normal size.  GORGEOUS!

I know it’s cliched, but isn’t the childlike faith of stealing the moon a lot like reaching for dreams and goals?  I think so at least.  Although I know I can’t literally steal the moon like in Despicable Me, I can reach for the moon.  You know the saying, “Reach for moon, and even if you miss, you’ll land among the stars.”

My dream of a writer has been ups and downs as I’m sure it has been for every person reaching for their goals.  As a writer we have to deal with rejection letters, 1-star ratings, people sugar coating their answers on whether they like your book or not.  You know, the response to “Did you like it?” A long drawn out “yeah, sure” with a hint of a question mixed in it.  It’s inevitable that we’ll run across people who hate our books, stories, poems, etc.  But it doesn’t mean the inevitable hurts any less.

I’ve considered quitting writing hundreds of times before.  I used the lame excuses, “I’m not good enough.” “No one likes my work.” “You’re a loser.” “You can’t make this happen.”

Screw that.  I’m making it happen myself.  One way or another, I will steal the moon.

*Sorry for this cliched blog post😉

**And for more “Moon Game” pictures head over to this site.

Leave a Reply

