On Procrastination: Or, Preparing for NaNoWriMo

Sourced from Facebook Page Positive Outlooks

I made the stupid decision to participate in NaNoWriMo a month or two ago.  I’m a first-time participant.  I don’t know why I decided it.  It mostly had to do with Jennifer Randolph.  She said something that resonated with me while we were discussing something on her blog post, Subscribing Saves the Day (Again).  “…I think after years of hiding under my blankets on November 1st it is time to stop pretending to be a novelist and WRITE. Besides, if it turns out to be a flop then I can work on perfecting some other undiscovered talent.”

It got me to thinking.  Most writers participate in it, why can’t I at least give it a try?  I usually write around 1,000 words a day how much more is 700.  If you can’t already tell, I’m not very good at math.

So, I had the brilliant idea to try my hand at outlining – again.  Why I thought it would work out this time, I dunno.  Stupidity, lack of sleep, being busy and therefore not using my brain?

Outlining has NEVER been my thing.  I can’t do it.  I CAN do it if I put my mind to it, but I find that having a general idea and pantsing my way through a novel works best.  You can read more about that in my post about being a Plotting-Pantser.

I’m kind of apprehensive to leave my vampire/werewolf novel though.  I love it.  Seriously.  I’m in love with one of my main characters, Milo.  He’s a hunk.  ;)  What was the point?  Oh yes, apprehension about leaving my WIP.  I’m afraid that love will fade and I won’t be able to go back to it with my current zeal, but it could also make me miss them so much it furthers my writing.  It can go one of two ways.  I’m hoping for the latter.

I swear I had another point I was supposed to enter here…

I’m also beginning to rethink my decision.  Do you know all that I have going on in November?  Well, obviously you don’t.  But, I have a Launch Party to participate in, the second youngest niece’s birthday is the third, Thanksgiving, my mom’s birthday, Black Friday, slopping the hogs, feeding the cows…  We all know the last two are, as Tamara Paulin says, “Bulldoodle!”  Let’s make that the last three.  I HATE Black Friday.  I’d rather pay full price than deal with crazed moms who know how to wield a knife and shoot a gun (This is the South I live in after all.) trying to find the best deal on electronics and lala loopsy dolls.

Also sourced from Positive Outlooks

Excuses!  I know.  They are.  I, mean, being a writer means sucking it up and writing through everything you have going on.  Shoot, as adults we all know what that means.  It doesn’t just pertain to writing.  Excuses are excuses no matter what they are and no matter your profession.  I’m just being whiney*.

So here’s me sucking it up and coming out from underneath the blanket to be an actual NOVELIST.  (Thanks, Jen!)

For all of you procrastinators… I mean, authors preparing for NaNoWriMo, how’s it going for you?

*Oh, and you can probably expect more whiney-baby posts come November.  Something along the lines of “WHY NANOWRIMO? WHY?”  or something more affectionately titled, “YOU IDIOT.  WHAT WERE YOU THINKIN’!”

10 thoughts on “On Procrastination: Or, Preparing for NaNoWriMo

  1. Love the pics about procrastination, may have to steal the bottom one…
    I want to do nano, but I always come back to the fact that I just don’t have that big a story to tell. Short stories, yes. But a novel? No. I hope yours goes well for you!

    Like

  2. I’m getting excited for NaNo. I work well with deadlines, haha!

    Also, you don’t *have* to leave your vampire/werewolf piece. THAT can be your NaNo! You’d just have to pound out 50,000 more words of that. 😀 Make a note of where you are the end of the month word-wise in that piece, and add 50k to it. That’s what I’m going to do. I’ve decided that I’m going to have a first draft done by the end of this year, and NaNo is exactly the kind of pressure I need to get it into high gear!

    And if you didn’t whine about NaNo, you wouldn’t be human. :p NaNo is a cruel mistress, hahaha!

    Like

    1. I never really thought about just adding 50,000 words to it. *has a smacks forehead moment*

      I’ve decided that NaNo will give me time to write the sequel to my current book out, Piercing Through the Darkness. At least that’s what I hope to achieve!

      Like

  3. I was going to write a whole long comment, but now there’s not enough time. I’ll have to do it tomorrow. 🙂

    Also, are you saying that most writers eventually suck it up and write a novel (as opposed to shorter forms), or are you saying that most writers do NaNo? If the latter, that most people who self-identify as writers do NaNoWriMo, I would tend to doubt that’s true. I don’t, though I admit that’s not a really statistically accurate sample.

    Like

    1. What I meant was most writers write (no matter what form), even when we’re feeling down. We push through no matter what we have going on because that’s what we do. We write because most of the time, we can’t just sit back and NOT write. Sorry for the confusion. 🙂

      I, however, know of a lot of writers who DON’T do NaNo. It’s just personal preferences. And well, if you like torture or not.😉 haha

      I look forward to your longer comment.😉

      Like

  4. I love NaNo. The first year I did it was… 2005 I think. I’m looking forward to doing it again this year. That’s not to say I’ve been successful every year, but I do love the sense of community. And it’s been great to read posts from people in the industry recommending it, everyone from Chuck Wendig through to agent Rachelle Gardner.

    I’ve got an idea that I’m going to run with this year and see where it takes me. (It’s a YA post-dystopian-future story that I otherwise may not get around to writing, but NaNo gives me an excuse to experiment.) But… planning? What in the world is that?🙂

    Good luck to you!

    Like

    1. I know. I recently read Rachelle Gardner’s latest blog post about it. I can’t wait to experience it actually. I’m nervous, but I know I don’t HAVE to finish it although I hope I WIN! haha

      I’d love to see what you do with the YA story. I’ve always wanted to write a dystopian novel, but I can’t think of any good ideas…yet. I’m writing a sequel to Piercing Through the Darkness. My readers want more, so I thought I’d take the prime opportunity to actually write it instead of saying that I was going to and never doing it. 🙂

      Planning…yeah. Apparently, I don’t know the meaning of that word either!😉

      Thanks. Good luck to you too!🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

