Why not give us a chance?

Today, Karen Baney featured me on her blog.  As Indie authors, we have a hard time selling our work, our selves.  People are apprehensive, and I understand that apprehension.  I was there at one point.   The community we have together is amazing, and we don’t just include writers, we care about the readers too.

So please take the time to check out my guest post, Taking a Chance on Indie Authors. If you don’t mind, tweet about it, share it on Facebook, Google+.  We want to spread the word.  Thanks!

 

4 thoughts on “Why not give us a chance?

  1. There has always been a prejudice against self-publishing (consider the implications of the phrase “vanity press,” for example), and people see indie writers through that lens. As Tamara commented on her blog recently, “Self-pubbers are permitted zero typos!”

    True enough. If you’re an indie author and a reader finds a typo or a grammatical problem, the conclusion is: “You see, this is what happens when you don’t have editors and proofreaders.”

    Books that are traditionally published also have typos and grammatical problems, of course (Inherent Vice has three typos, for example), but nobody uses that to condemn traditional publishing as a model.

    Like

    1. I know. I can think of a few traditional published novels with typos that I’ve read recently. It’s not fair, and it feels like we indie authors have to constantly try to prove ourselves, for a lack of a better word, “worthy.” And with the growth of ebooks and self-publishing, you’d think that things would get easier for us. But, that’s not always the case.

      Anyway, I’m very glad you commented. 🙂 Thanks!

      Like

      1. I’m not too worried about trying to change people’s minds about self-publishing in general. I really won’t mind if, years from now, people still say they dislike self-pubbed books, BUT they do love authors X, Y, and Z. I am trying to be Author Z.

        I think self-pubbing has already gained a lot of acceptance, as have low-budget indie movies.

        Like

  2. I do agree with you. However, I do think it is important to make sure people aren’t afraid to give us a try. But, you’re right, it is gaining acceptance. I hope that continues. 🙂

    I hope you’re on the X,Y, and Z list for readers! You’re on mine! I can’t wait for your next book to come out! So exciting.😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

