Thanksgiving and a Blog Award? AWESOME!

1 Thessalonians 5: 18 (NKJV): “In every thing give thanks: for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus concerning you.” 

Today is Thanksgiving Day here in the US, and well, I’m sitting around in my pjs waiting for the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day parade to start.  (And listening to my nieces ask every five minutes when the parade will start.)  So, I check my email which isn’t uncommon.  I usually have 50 emails to go through by morning, so I’m deleting messages and see a notification from WordPress about a message.  Boy was I surprised to see that D.J. Lutz had given me the Liebster Blog Award.  It a great start to my Thanksgiving morning.   Here’s what he said, “Emerald Barnes, a very collaborative blogger who seems to be doing all the right things.  A writer worth your time, especially if you are a fellow writer.”    Great right?

I know what you’re thinking, a blog award.  Really?  That’s what you’re excited about today?  But amongst other things, yeah.  It means there are people who actually read my blog and like it! *insert face of shock*

Niece's Shocked Face

So, here’s what I have to do.

The award is for blogs with less than 200 followers. Definitely good on that front.

The award is to bring to light new or unknown writers.  Well, I’m definitely new.  Guess I’m unknown too.😉

And the award is meant to forge new connections in the blog-o-sphere.  Sounds great to me!

1. Thank the blogger who gave me the award.  Thank you, D.J. Lutz for sharing this with me!

2. Give the award to 5 of your favorite bloggers, and let them know by posting a comment on their blog.  I’ll probably just share at the end of the blog and make my way to the bloggers in after a while since I’m about to start my Thanksgiving festivities.

3. Post the award on your blog.

4. Bask in the love of the most supportive group on the Internet – other writers.  I always love to do that!

5. Have fun and spread the karma.  Definitely love #sharingthelove

My top five picks:

Laura Stanfill.  She’s amazing.  She’s the first real follower I had.  You know, someone who wasn’t family and following by obligation.  She was also the first writer I met through the blogosphere!  She’s certainly deserving.

Jo Eberhardt over at The Happy Logophile.  She not only brings helpful writing tips, she leaves us with hilarious stories and family stories.

R.S. Guthrie at Rob on Writing.  I recently found his blog, but he definitely keeps things interesting, especially on the writing front!  (He’s also a good friend and great writer!)

Dalya Moon.  She’s a YA writer who is not only a friend, but a talent author who is quickly becoming a favorite!

And last but certainly not least, Spencer Brokaw.  He’s a talented, young author who brings us writing tips and interviews from other authors.

Happy Thanksgiving, y’all!  And Happy Blogging!

7 thoughts on “Thanksgiving and a Blog Award? AWESOME!

  1. Thanks so much, Emerald! I still can’t believe I was your first real follower, but I’m sure glad I found you. You’re an important part of my blogging community. Happy Thanksgiving and enjoy the feasting and your family!

    Like

    1. You are very welcome! And I’m glad you found me as well. You’re an important part of my blogging community as well. 🙂 That’s why I had to link back to you!

      Happy Thanksgiving to you and your family as well! I hope it’s wonderful!

      Like

  2. Hey, congratulations! Well-deserved, I must say.

    I didn’t watch the parade, but my mother and I did watch Broadway Danny Rose (one of our favorite movies). It begins with a song about over-eating and ends on Thanksgiving, so it was pretty appropriate.

    Hope your Thanksgiving was good, too.

    Like

    1. Thank you! I really appreciate that!

      I love the parade! My family rarely misses. If we are going to end up missing it, we record it on the DVR for later.

      That movie does sound fitting for Thanksgiving though.🙂 I did have a good Thanksgiving. I hope you had a great Thanksgiving as well. 🙂

      Like

  3. Pingback: Monday’s Top 5 (All Award the Blogging Train) | The Happy Logophile

Leave a Reply

