Updates of sorts…

1. My new Kindle Touch is amazing! The only thing I’m having a hard time adjusting to is the fact that it’s like reading an actual book, and therefore, isn’t backlit. However, it’s better on my eyes than reading on my Android Tablet, phone or computer for that matter. Isn’t it odd that I’m having a hard time adjusting to the fact that it’s like reading a “real book?” Guess that says a lot about what I’ve been reading lately.  Also, the Kindle touch is much lighter than the 860 page hardback novel, Inheritance by Christopher Paolini, I was reading, and my arms aren’t hurting now from sitting with the book too long.

2. I’m hopelessly addicted to downloading the free Kindle books the authors are offering up to us. I have downloaded more ebooks than I can possibly read in my human life. I think it’s “NEW KINDLE SYNDROME” kicking in. This obsession, however, didn’t start when I got my new Kindle. It’s been going on for – well a while.

3. I’m considering bleaching my hair again.

Taken July 2010
A more recent picture of me taken at the end of September this year (I'm with my oldest niece.)

4. I hope you all have stopped by to see what’s going on at the WLC.  Seriously, we have a lot going on.  Not only do we have our Indie Celebration running right now.  (It ends Saturday.)  There are read and review promotions, free ebook Fridays, and featured reads!  We now have a forum for authors both unpublished and published alike to participate in.  It’s great, and we’re growing.  Stop by and see what’s happening!

5.  I’ve tried taking a break from writing for the past few weeks.  I say tried because it hasn’t worked out so well.  I’ve been itching to write, and I want to work on the sequel to Piercing Through the Darkness.  But, it isn’t working out right.  Aside from having a few paragraphs from different parts of it, I’m struggling with the rest of the novel.  It’s frustrating to say the least.  However, I have a short story I’m working on, and I do need a break after three novels this year.  Maybe my brain is trying to tell me something.😉

I hope you all had a very Merry Christmas, and I wish you a very Happy New Year! May all of us reach our goals, and more than anything, be happy.

**I’d like to thank my new followers as well! This blog wouldn’t happen without you guys, old and new! :)**

9 thoughts on “Updates of sorts…

  1. 1. I find e-ink is much better than standard screens for reading books. Plus the weight. When Against the Day (Pynchon, over 1,000 pages) comes out for Kindle, then I’ll read it. Too heavy to carry around in hard copy.

    2. I’m managing to be selective, bt I understand the urge.

    3. Go for it.🙂

    4. I did!

    5. Sometimes it’s good to switch projects, lengths, etc. It’s never good to feel like you’re stuck in a rut. As you can tell by my blog, I’m circling around about four different projects, trying to figure out which to work on next.

    Like

  2. Over a 1000 pages? Yeah. I’d say that hardback was too heavy to carry around. I know Inheritance is at 860. So, I got a Kindle version of Inheritance to finish it on it.

    I’m so glad you stopped by the WLC! YAY!

    It is good to switch up projects. That’s why I’m bouncing between a few ideas at this point. Read Me Dead is still in edits, and I’m waiting for the INCREDIBLE Jo Eberhardt to get back to me with her beta notes before finishing it. So, I may go back to some old projects and revise them.

    Oh, one quick question for you. I’d love to host you on my blog as a guest blogger. Would you be interested? (I’d ask you through email but I’ve lost your email address. I’m so sorry!)

    Like

  3. 1. Lol, how’s that for a new workout: The Sit There and Read a Thousand-Page Book Program! Get lost in the story, feel the bu-u-urn.

    5. When novel writing flags, a quickie project or two may be just the ticket. Sometimes it’s a real boost just to have that sense of having *completed something*, even if that something’s The End comes in at only a few thousand words. Short story breaks are good for the authorial soul!

    My Christmas was indeed quite merry! Happy New Year, Dreaming Awake crowd!

    Like

    1. Well, when I read Mason & Dixon (600+ pages) it was a bit of a workout.🙂

      I agree about a shorter project making a good break. I’ve been reading up about the mechanics of e-publishing and I’m thinking of starting with something novella-length, rather than going right to a full-length book (and I’d rather have the first time be with something that doesn’t have illustrations — one complexity at a time). It was Emerald who gave me the idea, with Piercing through the Darkness.

      Like

      1. That sounds like a GREAT workout to me. One I could totally get used to!

        As far as the shorter project goes, I agree. And I’m glad I could be of some inspiration, Anthony! 😉

        I thought the same thing. Get out there with a shorter work and work my way from there. My next novel is three times as long as Piercing Through the Darkness. Well, it is right now at least. 😉

        Like

  4. Emerald, I was leery about the kindle at first also. And also hopelessly addicted to downloaded too many books. A friend at work suggested not going over 6 pages. That worked fine at first. But then I had a new trick. I put all the books into categories so now I’m back to one page which means I fill up 5 more again. Hopeless.😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

