*bangs head against wall*

Why won’t this novel write itself?  I’ve contemplated this question for the past month.  I want nothing more than to sit down and write the sequel to Piercing Through the Darkness.   I want nothing more than for my ideas to make it to paper.  I want to sit down and know what I’m writing.

Ah, the pains of being a pantser.  With this novel, I even outlined some.  The outline was awful, so I tossed it.  Figuratively, not literally because I can’t toss my hard work even if it’s horrible.  Here I am, begging for some kind of motivation or idea that will force this novel out of the recesses of my brain and onto paper where I can then write and edit it.  Edit.  Oh that word I hate, but at this point, I would take it over the frustration of not being able to write a decent paragraph of Lighting the Darkness.

Okay, I have a few paragraphs of my novel, but it’s the end and not the beginning.  I know the ending.  It’s the only ending this book ever needed, but I need a beginning and middle.  Unfortunately, they’re as important as the ending.😉

I’m actually toying with a couple of different possibilities at this point and time.  I could start it with something terrible happening, or I could show Kandi and Jimmy’s happy life before this something bad happens.

Okay, so I know all of the reviews of my novella have stated that they wished there was more to the story, and they want to know more about what happened before the accident.  So, I’m taking all of this into consideration about how it’s best to add all of that information in while still keeping my original plot line in tact.

And *bangs head against wall*

Sourced from Google

So…. that’s my dilemma.  How do I start this novel?  Do I force it now or start some other project I want to write and then try to write this one?

My New Year’s Resolution, amongst a lot of other things, is to write this novel.  A novel that is throwing me for loops.  But as to whether it will be now or later, I can’t honestly say.  Maybe my readers won’t hate me for waiting a while.  I really want to deliver on this novel.  I don’t want to force or rush it.  I hope they will understand that.

Happy New Year’s Guys!  What are you resolutions?

4 thoughts on “*bangs head against wall*

  1. D.J. Lutz

    My NYR, other than the standard “lose weight” is to have something to show the agent in late February. I took a leap and set up a critique session so it’ll be money wasted if I don’t finish the edits!

    Like

  2. First of all, my advice is definitely to work on something else for a while. You need your head, so don’t get to the point where you want to bang it on things.🙂 There is a value to pushing through difficulties when you’re right near the end of a project, but not at the beginning. You’ll be ready to start when you’re ready. And, speaking for your readers (presumptuous, I know), we’ll wait. We want it right, not according to a schedule.

    I talked about some of my New Year’s goals in my last post:
    http://u-town.com/collins/?p=2958, including having more than one project cooking at once.

    I’ll write more tonight, some time around midnight.

    Best wishes for the new year.

    Like

    1. Yeah. I guess I’m going to have to work on something else. I don’t want to start my year off stressed. lol And yes, I kind of do need my head.😉

      I saw that post. Good luck on all of your projects! I look forward to reading more of your works! (I also look forward to reading more. Period. lol) Also, I still can’t believe Water for Elephants started as a NaNoWriMo project. 😉

      I also look forward to your new post!

      Thanks for the advice. It’s certainly always appreciated!😀

      Best wishes for you too and much luck and success in the New Year!

      Like

Leave a Reply

