Guest Post: Making Dreams a Reality

It is with great pleasure that I introduce Author Amy Durham as today’s guest post.  Welcome, Amy! 

First of all, THANK YOU Emerald for inviting me to visit your cyber-home today!

It’s my pleasure!  I’m glad you came for visit!

I’m always thrilled to network from other authors. It’s exciting to learn from others who do the same thing I do, and from the readers who follow their blogs!

For today’s post, I chose a quote that I think truly sums up the writing journey… or the journey of any dream that a person pursues.  It comes from W. Clement Stone, who was a business man and a philanthropist, as well as the author of a self-help book that focused on positive thinking. He died in 2002, leaving behind a life that continues to speak to the power of positive thought to make a person content and successful.

“So many fail because they don’t get started; they don’t go. They don’t overcome inertia.  They don’t begin.” ~ W. Clement Stone

Dreams become reality when we take the first step toward achieving them. It’s been my dream to write books since I was eleven years old. In the beginning, it never occurred to me that it would be difficult, or that I couldn’t do it. I just tried. I penned stories… brief, short scenes… on notebook paper all through middle school. As I got older, realization dawned that writing a book was a much larger task. Perhaps I lost sight of the dream for a time, believing it to be more than I was capable of, but the dream never actually went away. Nine years ago, I made the conscious decision to pursue it, in earnest.

Now, several completed manuscripts and a few partially completed ones later, I’ve made my dream a reality because I “got started”… I “overcame inertia”… I “began it”. No matter what my sales figures are, I am not a failure as a writer, because I WRITE. I’m a success because I took the steps to make my dream a reality.

Whatever your dreams are, I encourage you to do the same. Begin them. Overcome the inertia of doing nothing about them. Don’t fail because you never got started. Your dreams have much to give you and much to teach you. Go after them and see what happens!

Thank you, Amy, and I wish you much success with your writing!

Connect with Amy:

Once Again Blurb:

Reincarnation sucks! Unless it comes with a cute guy. That’s what sixteen year-old Layla Bradford discovers when she moves to Sky Cove, Maine, a small-town she thought was ordinary, but turns out to be an episode of “Cold Case” on steroids.

Layla doesn’t want to fit in; she wants to blend in and stay out of the spotlight. But the spotlight is where she winds up when she catches the eye of school cross-country star and all-around-nice-guy Lucas Ellis.  She quickly learns there’s more at stake than high school reputations when she and Lucas discover they are the reincarnations of a young married couple from the mid-1800s who suffered a horrible tragedy at the hands of a madman who was never brought to justice. After a series of frightening visions show Layla and Lucas glimpses of their past-lives, they realize that the villain of their previous existence has also been reincarnated, in the form of a fellow high school student who targets them with teenage pranks that soon turn dangerous. As they grow closer, will Layla and Lucas be able to uncover the truth in time to stop the same tragedy from unfolding once again?

Now, you can head on over to her blog and check out my guest post!

One thought on “Guest Post: Making Dreams a Reality

Leave a Reply

