Guest Post: Some days, it’s hard to be a writer

  It is with great pleasure that I introduce Author Lisa V. Proulx as today’s  guest blogger!  She is a horror novelist, and she also writes stories of inspiration.

Welcome, Lisa! 

Some days it’s hard for me to be a writer. There are times when I want to scream and pull out my hair and say never again!

During those times, I have nothing to say, nothing to write or talk about and I get frustrated and want to walk away from the craft and join a circus.

Then after I get over my tantrum, I pick up where I left off and the words flow through me once again.

I think we, as writers, all experience the pain and frustration of trying to get our names out there, trying to be someone…to be heard.

I myself get discouraged and wonder why on earth I ever wanted to write. However, I realize that I never really had a choice. The path chose me and I have no other path to follow.

When we are children, we dream of being a doctor or a nurse but who dreams of being a writer?

I began writing when I was in elementary school and once my parents encouraged me to continue, I blossomed! I went on to write poems and short stories then full-length manuscripts (for an 8 year old) but hey, I was writing!

I got inspiration from old black and white and sepia movies that played at the local library every week. My mom was a stay at home mother and with my brother and I under foot, she would go nuts. So she found an outlet for us at the library where we would sit for a spell and watch old movies once a week.

I can still see the old Dracula, Frankenstein and Mummy on the screens and I recall thinking how Dracula was my favorite.

I think it was then that I knew that I wanted to write horror and write something that would scare people when they read it.

My mother’s favorite show was The Twilight Zone and she too wrote short stories in the same vein (pun intended)

When I was in 9th grade, I wrote a poem called “Screams of No Reply” and my English teacher liked it enough to have it published in the newspaper. I felt like a celebrity and that was the first time that I realized that I wanted to be a writer.

I wrote all through high school and filled up every spiral notebook I could get my hands on. I even tried writing songs, even though I don’t know music, I know words and they poured out of me, crying to be heard.

Box after box began filling up with my thoughts, feelings and ideas. Every teenage heartache would be a new song for me or a sad poem about a lost love. I soon found that I wrote my best work when under such drama. I actually looked forward to being sad so I could write! How silly that sounds today. However, at 17, it seemed right to me.

I went on to college where I studied public speaking and English. I excelled in both and told everyone my dreams of being a writer. My fellow classmates even called me “Stephanie King” (Stephen’s sister)

The road has not always been easy but it’s what I do, it’s who I am and I wouldn’t have it any other way.

Thanks for stopping by, Lisa!  It’s been a pleasure having you on my blog! 

Connect with Lisa:

Smashwords Author Profile: http://www.smashwords.com/profile/view/lisavproulx

Follow her blog:  http://lisavproulx.wordpress.com/

Facebook Author Fan Page: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Lisa-V-Proulx-Author-Fan-Page/223212131077410

Where to buy her works:

The Barefoot Review: http://www.barefootreview.org/progress.html#lisa_v_proulx

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=ntt_athr_dp_sr_1?_encoding=UTF8&search-alias=books&field-author=Lisa%20V.%20Proulx

Barnes&Noble: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/s?store=NOOKSTORE&keyword=lisa+v.+proulx

5 thoughts on “Guest Post: Some days, it’s hard to be a writer

  1. Pingback: Cool Writing Articles, Upcoming Authors, My Recent Interviews, and Catching Up! :) | Lisa V. Proulx, Author

  2. Pingback: How do you deal with your fickle muse? | Emerald Barnes' Dreaming Awake Blog

Leave a Reply

