Guest Post from Author Amy Manemann

It is with great pleasure that I introduce a fellow volunteer from the WLC, who I have the fortune of working alongside with, Amy Manemann.  She’s the author of the Taci Andrews Deadly Series, and she is one of the kindest (and funniest) people I have had the fortune of meeting and working with.  She’s here to discuss whether or not we’re slaves to technology.

Welcome, Amy! 

Are we slaves to technology?

We live in the era of Technology, there’s no doubt about it. We’re surrounded by desktop computers, lap tops, Ipads, cell phones, ereaders – everywhere you go you name it, they’ve invented it and someone has it. But when did we become so all consumed by technology? Is technology a slave to us or are we slaves to technology?

I get up each morning at 5:00, get myself some coffee then jump on the computer to catch up on that day’s list of events. As usual there are emails to respond to , tweet’s needing scheduled, website work to be done and facebook messages to get. I then periodically check email and facebook throughout the day to keep abreast of everything going on.

Ok I admit it; I’m a facebook, twitter, gmail junkie. Do they make support groups for that?

The first book in the Deadly Series, Deadly Reunion

I enjoy the work that I do and admit to sometimes being a bit overly obsessive with constantly checking on things (the laundry pile begins to tower after awhile) But herein lies the rub of it all; Will everything fall part today if any of those things aren’t done?

Probably not. Yes, I could get behind (gasp!) and it might take an extra bit of elbow grease to catch things up again but it IS possible to disentangle myself from the technology chains of slavery and breathe the fresh air of freedom.

So go on, give it a try. Put down your cell phone. Put away that Ipad. Turn off your computer. The world won’t end today because you took a break from technology to do something you were meant to do; Enjoy life.

Connect with Amy:

14 thoughts on “Guest Post from Author Amy Manemann

    1. Dear Amy,

      I loved your article and I also agree that there is nothing wrong with turning off our cell phones, ipads or computers. I enjoy writing on paper and pencil. I get my best ideas when I am jotting away on my notebook! I am glad Emerald had you on here. This is a great blog and great article.

      Syl Stein

      Like

  1. Technology can be one cruel master, too; get you all dependent, and then yank the rug out from under you with technical difficulties. No more, my friends! To freedom! Go pick up a paper book, somebody!

    Like

  2. I think it’s important to pick and choose, too, and not feel that we need to do everything just because “everybody else” does. I spend quite a bit of time on blogs, including my own, and on email. I find those things very rewarding.

    OTOH, I’m not on Twitter, and I probably spend fifteen minutes a day on FB and G+. I hate talking on the phone (except to my mother), so I almost never do, and I never watch television (though I do watch movies on DVD).

    And when I write, it’s on paper, with a fountain pen, away from the distractions of the computer.

    Like

    1. Wow. That sounds amazing. I can’t imagine not tweeting or being on Facebook much. It’s kind of sad. I also wish I could hand write my novels, etc. I just don’t have the patience for it.😉

      Like

      1. Well, I’m not recommending any of those things, or anything specific at all. I’m just recommending that people concentrate their online time on the things which are the most rewarding for them. Which will not be the same for everybody. I know some people who completely stopped blogging when they got on FB. Cool, that’s what works for them.

        Like

      2. Really? I wouldn’t quit blogging for FB, but yes, whatever works for them. I think that’s pretty cool that they can do that. My friends would probably have a fit if I blogged like I do on here on Facebook. lol Just kidding!

        But I do agree with you. It’s all about time management in my opinion.

        Like

    2. Dear Anthony,

      I am an aspiring author and I also write down my material on paper. For me it is a composition book and pencil. Then I also said up a timeline of my chapters. I am currently working on my first book. I admire the fact that you do not have the distractions of the television, and other technical media. However, I am glad you spend time on blogs and email.

      Syl Stein

      Like

    1. haha! I know. I went away for the weekend and came back to over 100 messages in my email. I think half of those were blog posts I need to read. Guess I’ll find time to catch up soon… hopefully.😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

