Learning from Past Authors – William Faulkner

I recently took the weekend off from working so much.  No technology, no writing, very few emails.  I went up to Oxford, MS to visit my boyfriend and his family.  Since I’d never been up there before, my boyfriend took me to see William Faulkner’s house, Rowan Oak. 

First of all, let me say, gorgeous place!  It was so amazing seeing the beautiful house, and seeing how he lived back then.  We saw his office where he worked and to see the books he read was simply amazing!  To say I was aww-struck is probably an understatement.  It felt so wonderful being where a famous author lived.

On the walls, they had pictures and quotes by him.  Two quotes struck me as quite inspirational.  (Excuse the bad photography, I was using my cell.)

One was this:

This quote pretty much sums up everything that I feel about writing and it being solitary.  Although, I do have to say, it’s nice to have fellow authors who know exactly how this feels around.  It somehow makes it less lonely. 🙂 Thank goodness for blogging!

 

Now this, this is exactly how I feel about my own work!  I don’t think it’s ever finished!

That’s why when I say it this time, Read Me Dead, is finished.  It’s finished.  I have a few pages left to edit, and then, a quick read through and proofread, and it’s done.  Finished.  Complete.  That’s it.

What do you think about these quotes?  Agree, disagree?  I’d love to hear your opinion. 🙂

5 thoughts on “Learning from Past Authors – William Faulkner

  1. What a great weekend. Getting away from technology and spending your time in such a peaceful environment. I’m envious.

    A writer’s life is truly solitary. I struggle with that. Because of the nature of the craft, I necessarily have to spend time away from my wife, which I really don’t like doing. She’s very supportive, but it seems I always think about the time I’m not spending with her. And then, of course, there are all the other things you’re skipping out on as well.

    Sometimes it seems like completing a novel is a never-ending process. I’ll be ecstatic when my current book is finished🙂

    Like

    1. It was so amazing, I’m not going to lie. I’m going to have to start taking more time away from technology and writing. As soon as I get my newest release out, I’m taking another break. 🙂

      But yes, writing really is a solitary experience. I know I have friends and family and my boyfriend who want to help me out and help me deal with the stresses of being a writer, but sometimes, they can’t help. It’s something you have to work through on your own. And there is certainly a lot you skip out on because of writing.

      But, I just finished the final edits on my novel, Read Me Dead, and now I’m proofing it. I find myself wanting to edit it again. It’s a vicious cycle!

      Good luck on your project. May you finish it soon and get to spend some time with your wife. 🙂

      Like

  2. I never considered writing lonely. Writing was something to stave off loneliness, taking up the space that, at the moment, others weren’t around or able to fill. Of course, if I’m writing from the perspective of a lonely character, that can feel pretty bleak. (;

    As for knowing when one has achieved “good enough”… goodness, when and how *does* one ever know?? So far as I can see, it’s all educated guesswork and learning to interpret what in the world your gut is going on about.

    Gorgeous shot of Rowan Oak! Why haven’t I named my house yet? Memo to self: Get on that.

    Like

    1. I know! I so need to name my house too! I’m putting that on my to-do list.😉

      But, I can see where writing could fill the void of being lonely, but in my personal opinion, I feel like Faulkner did. 🙂

      It is basically and educated guesswork to know when one work is finished. However, I tend to go by the moment I’m completely sick of my work. It’s time to let it go then.😉

      Thanks!

      Like

  3. Pingback: A shot 4 the wknd – william faulkner « arrecadação

Leave a Reply

