Neurotically Yours by Bonnie Trachtenberg: A Review and Interview of sorts!

I normally don’t read Romantic Comedies.  I stick to YA novels and suspense/thrillers and mysteries, but when my friend and fellow WLC volunteer, Bonnie Trachtenberg, was asking our group of writers if we could help her out with her book release, Neurotically Yours, I jumped at the chance to help her.  I didn’t expect her to send me an ARC of it, but she did.  So, I took the time to sit down and read it.  And boy, I was NOT disappointed!

Here’s a little about the book:

Smart, attractive, and ambitious, thirty-seven-year-old Dara Harrison is, nonetheless, still single—and on sabbatical from dating. Ironically Los Angeles’ most renowned relationship advice columnist, Dara has become a Southland sensation with her “tell-it-like-it-is” approach to the mating game.

Parlaying her success into a new business, Dara launches a revolutionary dating service geared for the perennially single and romantically challenged. Its no-holds-barred theme soon makes the company a roaring success, even catapulting Dara onto the national talk show scene—until, of course, it all backfires.

With her company under threat and a publicity stunt gone haywire, Dara is forced to join the ranks of her lonely heart clientele, and suddenly realizes that saving the business she cherishes, means facing her lifelong fears—and maybe even falling in love again.

Witty, poignant, and immensely engaging, this romantic comedy from the bestselling author of Wedlocked: A Novel features sparkling dialogue, colorful characters, and a story that pulls you in and never lets you go.

The book read like a movie.  I could honestly see this on the big screen.  You know how big romantic comedies are nowadays!  (Well, even from the olden days!  I’m thinking Cary Grant, Doris Day type movies.) 

As a single woman at the time, I related to Dara’s frustrations over dating, and I was screaming at her half of the time to just trust a man.  I could even relate to her giving dating advice when she was perfectly happy being a single woman since all of my friends came to me with their relationship problems and questions.

The company Dara opens made me think about my experiences with first dates.  No one is EVER who they seem to be at first!  So, this idea was pretty ingenious to me, making a service where you had to be brutally honest about EVERYTHING about yourself and the people you met through MateSearch, but I could also see the pitfalls of having something such as the Rate-a-Mate feature.  How could you be brutally honest and not be hurt somehow?  Which only gave the novel a more realistic feel.

I enjoyed reading it, and Bonnie Trachtenberg brought such life to her characters that I imagined them as real people, and this actually happening to someone I knew personally!

Now, some fun!!

The author of, Neurotically Yours, is here with me today on the blog, and she’s going to talk to us about her novel!  Welcome, Bonnie!

Thanks so much for having me here, Emerald!

My pleasure!

As an advice columnist, Dara gave a helpful list of questions to ask your man on your first date.  She makes sure to say, Assume Nothing!  They are:

  1. Are you married?
  2. Do you have a steady girlfriend?
  3. Do you live with any females (including your mother)?
  4. Are there any women with whom you are sleeping with and would call a “close friend”?
  5. Are there any female relationships in your life that you would classify as “complicated”?
  6. Do you have any reason to hate your mother?
  7. How many children are you supporting?
  8. How many children might come looking for you in the future?
  9. Are you wanted in any of the fifty states or abroad?
  10. Is there any reason your fingerprints might be on file with the FBI?

What was the deal with this?

LOL! This list came about in a discussion with my best friend, Cathy, a couple of years before I began writing the book. We were on the phone commiserating about past relationships (mainly hers) and devising a list that we thought would have helped weed out the bad choices we’d made. Of course the more we brainstormed, the more outrageous our questions became, and this was only exacerbated by the fact Cathy was an FBI agent! Of course we knew we were going overboard when we both began laughing at the absurdity of it all. In fact, I found the conversation so amusing that after our call I jotted down the list and kept it, figuring I might one day use it in a book. Good thing I did! And no, I don’t think this is a great questionnaire for a first date, unless you’re going for the laughs.

Well it certainly made me laugh!  I quite loved these questions, but yes, I could see how extreme they are to be asking your date!

Here’s what Dara said about MateSearch (The business she began.) : “Dating through MateSearch is not about putting on airs or even putting your best foot forward.  There are no ancient pictures, and lying about your age, weight, or marital status is not tolerated.”

Was this something you thought about when you were a single woman?

Being a veteran dater for twenty years until I met my current husband, I thought many longtime singles like me would appreciate the idea of “cutting to the chase” so to speak. The older we get, the less patience (and time!) we have. To a certain extent I think this is a good idea, but would I take it to the extremes that Dara did? Doubtful!

I know this is a romantic book, but do you believe that what Dara’s mom, Jackie, says in this line to Dara, “Fine isn’t the goal in life.  Great is the goal.  Love is the goal,” is true?

I do. I’m a Taurus, and I’ve been told several times that Taureans need to be in love. In truth, I always yearned for a loving relationship when I did not have one. I think most people probably feel similarly. However, not everyone needs that kind of relationship in their life to be happy—and some, like Dara, may unconsciously desire it, but deny that fact out of fear. In the book, Dara is so out of touch with her own feelings on the subject. Her mother, who found a wonderful relationship after being hurt by her first husband, says these words to remind Dara that in some ways she knows her daughter better than her daughter knows herself.

Thanks for stopping by Bonnie!  Good luck with your sales, and I am so happy you joined me for your new release!  Congratulations and much success to you!

Pick up your copy of Neurotically Yours today!

4 thoughts on “Neurotically Yours by Bonnie Trachtenberg: A Review and Interview of sorts!

  1. Agreeing with Emma; that does sound fun. Next time I feel like venturing out of YA Fantasy territory, maybe I’ll check it out. (:
    If nothing else, I’ve been provided with a great little questionnaire to whip out on a date.😄

    Like

    1. If so, I definitely recommend this book! It’s fun for everyone! But yes, that’s the perfect questionnaire! I wonder what my boyfriend would’ve said if I had broken out that list of questions on our first date… lol Something to ponder upon. 😛

      Like

Leave a Reply

