Summer Teen Reading Party brings you Conda V. Douglas

 

Conda Douglas and Puck

Today I have the great pleasure of hosting author Conda V. Douglas during the Summer Teen Reading Party involving a host of YA authors! 

Thank you, Emerald, for having me, Conda and one of my fairy friends, One Wing, on your blog today.

It’s my pleasure!  Welcome! 

ONE WING’S CONFESSION

Okay, okay, I’ll admit it, it’s my own fault. I’m the one who broke the First Law, Never Let Humans Know We Exist. But come on, us fairies live in the attic of a shopping mall, how are we supposed to keep ourselves completely secret, for the Great Flier’s sake? Yeah, most humans if they spot us think we’re birds or, ugh, bats. But then Grandma MacDougall, owner of the Christmas Fairyland store, would stay late one night and catch me riding around on the huge musical carousel. I’d ridden the carousel for weeks and no one caught me. I guess I could have run and never returned and Grandma MacDougall might have believed she hallucinated, but riding the carousel is the closest I get to flying again, as I’m missing one wing.

And I never asked for my best friend’s, Swoop’s, help. But she would go and try to fix everything. Like she always does. And that’s when all the trouble started—no, hold on, it started with me. I suppose I need to apologize to Swoop. Or wait, maybe I’ll get Swoop a snickerdoodle cookie from the Cookie Lady shop, her favorite. Right after I take one ride on the carousel …

SNICKERDOODLE RECIPE

1 cup softened shortening of your choice (butter, margarine, Crisco)
1 1/2 cups white sugar
2 eggs
2 tsp cream of tartar
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp nutmeg
2 3/4 cup white flour

Cream together the sugar and shortening then add the eggs and mix well, until somewhat fluffy. Mix the flour, cream of tartar, baking soda, nutmeg and salt together and then add to the sugar, etc. Roll into walnut sized balls. Roll balls in mixture of 1/4 cup cinnamon and 1/4 cup sugar. Place unflattened onto ungreased cookie sheet and bake at 350 degrees 10-12 minutes until flat and slightly brown.

This makes a lot of chewy cookies, but that’s never a problem.

For more adventures of One Wing, read The Mall Fairies: Exile, the first in Conda V. Douglas’ Mall Fairies trilogy. 

Links:

Blog: Conda’s Creative Center

Amazon Page

Twitter: @Conda_V

Facebook

Book Trailer

11 thoughts on “Summer Teen Reading Party brings you Conda V. Douglas

  1. Thanks again, Emerald, for this great opportunity! I love being on your blog and the post was so much fun to write. Plus, I got to make snickerdoodles too, yum. Forgot to take a pic, though, I was too busy eating them. Also forgot to mention the giveaway on my blog on May 5th, coming soon!

    Like

    1. Marva, I know the secret to making them crispy. It’s easy, leave out the step of creaming together the sugar and shortening and eggs until fluffy. If you just mix in the butter and eggs, the cookies come out crisp. But my family prefers soft, so I make ’em that way.

      Like

Leave a Reply

