Interview with the Talented Amy Manemann!

  I am pleased to announce that I had the chance to sit down with Author Amy Manemann and discuss writing, her Deadly Series, and what her favorite flavor of ice cream is!

Amy and I have the pleasure of working together at the WLC, and if you’ve ever signed up for one of the promotions there, chances are you’ve spoken with one of us!

Amy is trouble with a capital T… I, mean, tons of fun to be around!

Hi, Amy!  Glad you could sit down with me!  First off, let’s start with you telling us a little about yourself.  Let’s get to know you.

Wow, are you sure you really want to open that can of worms? Just kidding. Sort of ;0)

The middle child of three I was born and raised in rural Iowa where I still reside with my husband and our two children. In between car pooling to soccer practices and baseball games I also work part time, manage to (somewhat) keep the house picked up and even find time to sit down in front of the computer and occasionally punch out a sentence or two. It’s a busy life, albeit a sometimes hectic one, but it’s my life and there isn’t anything I would change about it. Well, except maybe throwing in nap time every once in awhile. A girl needs her beauty sleep lol

Wow!  You are one busy woman!  And naps are always appreciated!

So tell me, how did you come about writing your smart-mouthed character Taci Andrews in your Deadly series?  Was she based on someone you know? And what is it with Oreos?!

Actually writing Taci’s character came very naturally to me, me being the smart alec that I am. She has a lot of my own personality in her with a few traits I wouldn’t mind having myself. I’ll let the reader try to discern where I leave off and Taci begins though ;0)

So what’s up with the Oreos, you ask? Um, have you ever had  double stuffed Oreos? They’re the cookies dreams are made from!! OK I’ll admit it: *stands up and clears her throat* “Hi, my name is Amy Manemann, and yes, I’m an double stuffed Oreo addict.” Seriously though, do they make support groups for that? I may need to sign up. Since I wrote Taci’s character with a lot of my own personality, it only seemed fitting to make her an Oreo addict too. The more the merrier, right?

I have had double stuffed Oreos!  They’re quite amazing!

Newest book in the Deadly Series

Taci sounds like a fun character, especially since I know you, and if she’s anything like you, fun times are to be had!  Now that we know a little more about Taci and well you, let’s talk about the series itself.  What’s it about?  What can we expect in the future from it?

Actually I think one of my reviews summed up the Deadly Series as a whole quite well: “It’s a fast paced romantic thriller with action, drama, suspense and comedy”. Deadly Reunion is the first book in the series and takes us on the journey of reporter Taci Andrews landing a career breaking story that sends her on an ackward trip down memory lane. She has to learn to face the ghosts (and old flames) of her past with a finesse that only Taci Andrews could possess: with a saucy smile and sarcastic comeback.

Those sound amazing!  I have the first one waiting on my Kindle, and I can’t wait for the second one!  What’s your favorite part about writing in Taci’s voice?

Well that’s an easy question: Having the power for Taci to say and do whatever she wants lol

Well, I should’ve known your answer would’ve been something like that!😉
But yes, that’s always the best part about writing a character don’t you think?!

So now that we know a little more about your books, let’s get to know you a little better!   What creature would you rather battle it out with in a dystopian society?  Zombies, aliens, or vampires?

Ooh, that’s a tough one. Well, since I like vampires and the thought of aliens creeps me out I’d have to go with zombies. I’ve heard it you shoot them in the head you’re good to go :0)

See, I’d rather battle aliens!  Zombies creep me out!

What is your favorite type of ice cream?

Most people would think Oreo ice cream was my favorite but actually Whitey’s Cotton Candy ice cream takes the top on that one. It’s awesome!

I’ve never had Cotton Candy ice cream!  I may have to give it a try!

What can we expect from you in the future regarding your writing?

Trust me, if you like cotton candy then you’ll LOVE cotton candy ice cream! It’s one of those things that you just have to try at least once in your life.

In regards to my writing I have big things planned on the horizon and the Deadly Series is just the tip of the iceberg. I’m currently in the process of researching my upcoming series, Serial Sinners, which will feature a serial killer who feels they are a messenger from God sent to purge the world of those who partake in the Seven Deadly Sins of the Bible. Alongside that will be a romantic cowboy series, a paranormal series and then a young adult paranormal series. I am also working on a few children’s books with the help of my own two children who are thrilled to have a Mom who is an author and very much enjoy writing as much as I do. The only problem I see with getting everything done is not enough hours in the day (can someone help me out with that, please?)

As my husband would say I’m definitely a writer. I have storylines constantly bouncing around in my head and I get kind of twitchy when I’m away from the computer for any length of time. The poor man. He’s definitely an Author Widow lol

How do you find the time for everything?!  It all sounds very interesting, and I’m excited about your YA paranormal series in particular!

Amy, thanks for taking the time out of your hectic schedule to talk to me!  Is there anything else you’d like to add?

I honestly have no clue how I find time to get anything done which is probably why I’m behind in laundry right now lol Thankfully my family is supportive of my million projects and gives me “gentle” reminders when it’s time to tear myself away from the computer and focus on the real world. I think we all need that reminder every once in awhile ;0)

Em, thank you for having me on, this was a lot of fun! If anyone is interested in learning more about me and what I’m up to you can find me at the following links:

Website

Goodreads

Twitter

Facebook

2 thoughts on “Interview with the Talented Amy Manemann!

Leave a Reply

