H.M. Prévost stops by for a chat during the Summer Teen Reading Party

Today I’d like to welcome, H.M. Prévost.  She’s here talking about her writing and book, Desert Fire, for the Summer Teen Reading Party.

Welcome!

Can you tell us about yourself?

I have a very routine, uneventful life, which is why I like to escape in the stories I write. Sometimes I write about a teen spy, other times about a girl sent to a foreign world she never knew existed. My characters have tons of drama and conflict in their lives. I think it makes up for the lack of drama and conflict in mine!

What genre do you write, and why did you choose that genre? Do you ever branch out from it or plan on it in the future?

I have always written YA, but I have dabbled in a few genres. Desert Fire is a thriller. The next novel after that was urban fantasy (I am currently shopping it around), and I have written fantasy as well. I like variety. Always writing in the same genre becomes suffocating after a while. It’s good to explore the conventions that are inherent in different genres.

Tell us about your book.

I wrote Desert Fire because I loved the Alex Rider series and I wanted a spy novel with a Canadian hero for a change. Since I was living in the United Arab Emirates at the time, that provided me with the perfect exotic location for the novel. It’s very much a boy book. For some reason I tend to write primarily from a boy’s point of view. I wish I knew why. . . .

What’s your writing habit like? Do you have a special place or music you like for your writing experience?

I do most of my writing after 7 pm when the kids are asleep. That gives me approximately 3 hours of uninterrupted writing time. The only problem is that sometimes I’m too tired to write by that point in the day, and I write very slowly as well, which doesn’t help. I am in awe of writers who say they can complete several thousand words a day. If I get 1,000 done, I’m ecstatic! I tend to write while lying on the bed with my laptop.

Do you have any pets? Have they made it into any of your writings?

Much to my children’s dismay, we only have a cat. No, none of my pets have ever made it into my writing. I am too busy writing about otherworldly creatures such as demons and the like.

What book are you currently reading?

Fifty Shades Free, the last book in the Fifty Shades trilogy. It’s interesting, but rather long for my taste. This is an example of a book where the editor should have told the writer: You need to cut down on some of these scenes!

Thanks for stopping by!  Now, you can leave a comment (with your email address) and you could win an e-copy of Desert Fire!  H.M. will choose a random commenter, so please, don’t forget to include your email address!  See what the book is about below!  Good luck!

Desert Fire blurb:

Nick stared at the mini-CD. It gleamed under the streetlights. Only the dying American pilot could have slipped it into his pocket. . . .

After running to the scene of a plane crash in Abu Dhabi, Nick Chevalier stumbles across classified military secrets. A ruthless terrorist will stop at nothing to get them. As Nick investigates the cover-up behind the downed plane, he crosses paths with an agent from a covert espionage agency and makes the leap from high school senior to teen spy. But he realizes too late that he put more than his own life at risk—his mother and sister are also in danger. Does he have what it takes to outwit a terrorist who wants him dead and save the two people he loves?

You can buy Desert Fire here.

More about H.M:

H.M. Prévost is a writer, photographer, teacher and avid reader of YA fiction. Thrillers, fantasy and paranormal romances (that’s right, pretty much anything with a vampire in it!) are her favorite genres. She also loves to paint and has covered her house with murals. For many years, she worked abroad in the United Arab Emirates, which provided an exotic setting for her debut YA thriller, Desert Fire. She lives in Québec with her husband, two rambunctious daughters, and Ginger the cat.

Now that you’ve read about H.M. Prévost, stop by her her blog and check out the interview she did with me in this blog swap!  Here’s the link!  Oh, did I forget to mention… I’m giving away 2 ebooks to one lucky commenter!

3 thoughts on “H.M. Prévost stops by for a chat during the Summer Teen Reading Party

  1. I spend a lot of time in guy characters’ heads, too. And I can’t tell if I used to write faster than I do lately, or if that’s just a mean lie my brain tells to shame me for what feels like my measly X words. Yup, that’s why we write the drama; who would want to read anything longer than a blog comment about *this*? X)

    Like

Leave a Reply

