Why don’t you deliver?!

So, the boyfriend and I headed out to the movies Friday for date night.

Isn’t he adorable?! He’s the one who Read Me Dead is dedicated to.

We first went to see Snow White and the Huntsman and then we headed over to see The Chernobyl Diaries after eating supper and grabbing a light mocha frappuccino from Starbucks.

Truth…

Snow White and the Huntsman… AMAZING!  I really can’t stress that enough.  (And despite what my boyfriend will tell you, it wasn’t just because I think Chris Hemsworth is bloody gorgeous!  I’m still not convinced Kristen Stewart is the perfect Snow White either.)  But, it delivered a good watch.  They changed the storyline up some to make it not so childish as the Disney version, but I still knew what was going to happen.  It was predictable but in a good way in my opinion.  I definitely would say that this movie is worthy of a watch.

The Chernobyl Diaries was a different story.  Okay, let me preface this with an “I HATE scary movies” phrase.  I’m usually not one to watch them, but for some reason, I’m fascinated by the nuclear meltdown of the reactor of Chernobyl.  I think my love of Destination Truth, when they went to Chernobyl and found some creepy things going on there, sparked my fascination with this.  So, I had to see this movie!

But, back to the original purpose for this blog post.  I was anxious to see The Chernobyl Diaries, and it definitely looked like it was going to deliver in the “scary” field.  But no.  I kept expecting things to happen.   The suspense would just build, but it would never really deliver on that built up tension.  It was quite a let down.

This got me to thinking about writing.  (Of course, right?)  Anyway, some people commented, mostly my editor, about how I never delivered in moments of suspense in Read Me Dead.  Was she right?  In some instances, she was.  So, in edits, I of course fixed that problem.

But, I thought it delivered.  It’s important to get feedback on things that don’t work in your books.  If your book is a suspense and doesn’t deliver, then yeah, chances are someone is going to mention that.  That’s what it’s important to have beta readers and/0r an editor.  A second pair of eyes is always a must before you publish your work or send it off to agents.  Maybe get some feedback and make sure you’re like Dominos and Pizza Hut and deliver!  Don’t be a DiGiorno pizza!  You know, “It’s not delivery, it’s DiGiorno”?!  Okay, yes, it’s a bad joke –

But, you have to deliver what you promise. If you promise a love triangle, give us one. If you promise murder, kill a bunch of minor characters… maybe even a major character.  If your main character claims to be sarcastic, for goodness sake, make her sarcastic. Just deliver to the readers (or movie viewers).  That’s all we ask!

Yes, I’m a reader first, writer second.  If only that were true on most days…

 

11 thoughts on “Why don’t you deliver?!

  1. I was originally not that excited about Snow White, but everything I’ve read has made it sound pretty interesting. I think I was reacting to the “By the Producer of Alice in Wonderland” hype. I liked Alice quite a bit (as I talked about here: http://u-town.com/collins/?p=1339), but the Producer without the Director and Actors didn’t seem like much. I will check this out.

    And, yes, things do have to deliver. One thing that drives me crazy is movies where a character is sarcastic in the first half but then falls in love and gets all goopy. Sarcastic people fall in love all the time, but they stay sarcastic (the master of this was Howard Hawks, BTW).

    This was one of the things that annoyed me about the last X-Men movie (which I generally liked): things were promised (to the viewer) and then dropped. That’s never good.

    Like

    1. I absolutely LOVED Snow White! It’s one I can easily recommend. I wasn’t disappointed by it at all. They kept true to the original Snow White fairy tale but made it not so romanticized. It was great!

      I agree about sarcasm! I don’t know if you’ve read our good friend Tamara/Dalya’s newest book, Smart Mouth Waitress, or not, but she does a good job of keeping her character sarcastic and smart-mouthed throughout the novel. Being an 18 year old, she does try NOT being sarcastic, but that’s not her character. It’s great!

      (Tamara, if you read this, I promise a review is coming soon!)

      And yes, it’s never good to just drop things in a book or movie. And I agree about the X-Men movie. Although, it is still a good movie.🙂

      Like

  2. LOVE the cute photo of you two!

    I just re-watched the ending of “Jennifer’s Body,” which was decent enough, but didn’t do that well commercially. I think 90% of the movie delivered on the promise of the trailers, but the ending was where it went wrong, because it was a downer. I felt I was promised campy fun horror, and I got a sweet young man slowly dying, then a mother seeing her dead daughter, then a nice girl brutally slaying people. UH … not campy!

    Conversely, “Cabin in the Woods” more than delivered, partly because the trailers didn’t give much away, but more importantly, the filmmakers were extremely aware of genre expectations. Even when they subvert them, it’s deliberate. There were some elements I didn’t love, but I can’t say they didn’t deliver on all that was promised, and then some. Same for Avengers, really.

    Books are so different, possibly because there are fewer people involved, fewer people to say when something doesn’t deliver. I’m glad to hear your editor was able to provide that perspective and anticipate readers’ reactions. There’s always so much second-guessing, that you have to train yourself to ignore the doubts and forge on, so you need someone else to say when there actually is a rough patch.🙂

    Yay for reviews!

    Like

    1. Thank you! I think that’s one of the better photos of us.😉

      I hated Cabin in the Woods!! I was so mad when I left the movie theater. I’ve never seen Jennifer’s Body so I can’t really comment on that. Avengers was AMAZING! I want to see it again. I was happy with that, and it definitely delivered!

      But yes, books are completely different! But if I read a book that doesn’t deliver it upsets me. And I was really glad my editor was able to help me with that and I’m happy to say, I’m getting great reviews so far!

      I finished your book about 2 weeks ago, but I haven’t had the time to sit down and write out a review. I’m so sorry!

      Like

      1. I’m sorry you hated Cabin! My girlfriend that I went with was unimpressed, but more like “meh.” I’m a big Angel fan (and anything Joss Whedon), and it felt very Angel-universe to me, which I dug. I guess it’s a polarizing movie. I could have had less gore, but there were some standout moments that I found brilliant. Ah well …

        Like

      2. I could see some good things about. The fact that they took the horror genre and did something different impressed me, but it was the ending I really had a problem with. It felt thrown together like they had run out of ideas or something.

        Like

      3. I saw Jennifer’s Body, and I thought there was a good movie in there somewhere, but I agree that it didn’t hold together at the end. As my father said so often when he came home from seeing a new play, it was okay, but it fell apart in the third act.

        I haven’t seen Cabin (or the Avengers, though I plan to see that soon), but I did just watch Serenity. For highly-stylized dialogue, I’ll definitely take Whedon over Cody.

        Like

      4. I didn’t see Firefly (I almost never watch TV), so I’m circling back to see that now on DVD.

        And, hey, nobody hits a home run every time. Robert Altman is my favorite director,and he made some sucky movies. I think he’d have been the first to agree. So what? That’s the price you pay for trying new things and taking chances.

        Like

      5. That is very true! You either have a hit or miss, but it’s not about the misses!

        I think you’ll like Firefly. I liked it better than Serenity. But then again, I have a tendency to watch more TV than movies.

        Like

  3. Pingback: Why don’t you deliver?! Part 2 | Emerald Barnes' Dreaming Awake Blog

Leave a Reply

