Why don’t you deliver?! Part 2

My boyfriend and I usually end up at the movies on every date we have.  I’m not saying that’s a bad thing, but it opens us up to more disappointment in the movie department.

First let me say this, I’m not big on watching movies.  I get all anxious and can’t sit still for long periods at a time.  (Which is weird seeing as how I can watch endless hours in a row of my favorite TV shows.)  So for me to really really want to watch a movie it’s a big deal.

So, anyway, last Friday, we ended up watching Prometheus.  It wasn’t one of my must-sees but it was for my boyfriend.  Since he so graciously sat through The Vow and The Lucky One for me, I decided that least I could do was sit through a movie about aliens for him.

And being the nerdy girl I am, I don’t mind watching movies about aliens.  In fact, Doctor Who and Falling Skies are two of my favorite TV shows.  So, I was all in for Prometheusalthough I haven’t seen the Alien films.

Well, let me tell you.  That was the LONGEST two hours and seven minutes of my life.  To say that I hated the film is quite an understatement.  It just didn’t deliver in aspect of giving me anything to relate to.  Towards the end, I was thinking please, kill everyone and let this end!  (I’m not a very nice person when it comes to being disappointed. lol)

But, if you’re a regular follower of my blog.  You probably know I wrote about this when I went to see the Chernobyl Diaries.  Please, please, please give me something to make me feel like my time investment is actually worth something when I’m reading or watching TV or film.

So, this also got me to thinking about my edits of the first installment of my Knight’s Academy Trilogy.  Was I delivering?  I’m not sure that I was giving my readers enough of the story to keep them invested.  So, now I’m trying to go back and remedy that.

I just think it’s important to keep your readers invested in your work.  Their time is precious, and the last thing we want is for people to feel like they haven’t gotten their money’s worth of entertainment.

But, today, you don’t have to worry about getting your money’s worth of entertainment.  I’m giving it to you for free!! You can download my first novella, Piercing Through the Darkness, for FREE today only!!

Blurb:

It’s on the edge of her memory like a word on the tip of her tongue, but Kandi can’t remember what it is to save her life.

Despite being a cop, Jimmy can’t protect Kandi from the one thing that haunts her. She’s in danger and doesn’t even know it. After it happened, her brain repressed her memories of the accident, and now, she’s taking a Biology class under a man who wants to see her dead. The memories have started coming back, and it feels like she’s miles away from him. How can he protect her when she doesn’t even know she needs protecting?

Can these characters pierce their way through the darkness?

6 thoughts on “Why don’t you deliver?! Part 2

  1. I think the big problem with Prometheus was it tried to do too much, to have too many ideas and subplots. I believe you could take the basics that were there and make 3 different good movies from it.

    I wasn’t begging for it to end while I was watching it, but when we went for dinner afterwards, with friends, I was annoyed they even wanted to talk about it. I didn’t think the unanswered questions were worthy of discussion.

    I’m a tough movie-goer to please. I don’t like formulaic stuff.

    We saw Cosmopolis a couple days ago. Most people will say it’s terrible. And it was, but at least it was striving to be brilliant. I admired its aspirations, and I found some moments in it were quite wonderful, but there was just too much of it, too many ideas, too densely packed together.

    Like

    1. I have to agree with you on that. It has amazing potential, but they had so much going on that I couldn’t focus and didn’t want to try. And you’re right. The unanswered questions definitely weren’t worth discussing.

      I’ve never even heard of Cosmopolis, to be honest. But movies with too much in it always bother me.

      Like

  2. I finally managed to see it, and I wrote about it on my blog. My reaction was more like Dalya’s (I did enjoy it, more or less), but it definitely didn’t deliver what it promised. And, compared to Alien (which I saw again quite recently), it was definitely an illustration of the adage that more does not always equal better.

    Like

Leave a Reply

