10 Keys to Ebook Marketing Success: Interview with Author Karen Baney

10 Keys to eBook Marketing Success by Karen Baney

Exclusively on Kindle through April 18th:  http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00B2YUQ16

Karen_closeup_left_med1. Tell us a little about yourself.

I’m a classic overachiever to the point of annoying my husband sometimes.  I met him while I was working full-time and going to school full-time.  He still reminds me of when, about two years after I finished my bachelors, I turned to him and asked, “So is this all there is?” (Meaning, I was bored with only working a full-time day job.)  His big suggestion was to go get a Master’s degree.  So I did.

Anyway, when I’m not working the day job, I write whatever I’m inspired to write.  My first five books have been Christian romance (one contemporary, four historical).  But, my latest book is for authors by an author.

2.  So, you moved from fiction to nonfiction?  Why?

I’ve had the pleasure of meeting some really amazing authors over the last few years.  When it comes to writing, they got it.  When it comes to the process of self-publishing, they got it.  But, when it comes to marketing, they were struggling to get noticed.  I think every author finds themselves in this place.  Even if we move beyond that place, all it takes is to release a new book and we find ourselves there all over again.

Well, I have always loved helping others.  In my career as a programmer, I would often write procedures or how-to instructions and post them on an intranet for other programmers.  Those programmers were very appreciative that the information they needed.  The help they needed was now at their fingertips.

I decided to translate this same approach to my writing career by writing a book to help authors navigate the landscape of eBook marketing.

3.  Why should authors read 10 Keys to eBook Marketing Success?10 Keys Cover Med

In the book, I’ve outlined the 10 Keys, or key areas, where authors can focus their time to set themselves up for success.  Some of my suggestions are based on personal experience, others are supported by research, and others come from my educational background and real-world experience in business for the past 20 years.

The book is structured in a way that facilitates the practical application of concepts at the end of each key (or chapter).  I ask the reader questions to help stimulate self-evaluation and to set goals or jot down a few action items on what they can change.  One beta reader told me it was taking her so long to get back to me because she had to stop and try things after each chapter!  That’s exactly what my hope is for every author that reads this book—that they will learn and apply a few good tips or techniques to their marketing plan.

Even if an author is experienced, there are some more in-depth discussions on pricing and distribution that I believe every author can learn from.  The last key is a bonus—specifically about some metrics that every author should be tracking to help them evaluate if their marketing efforts are successful.

4.  Did you find this book more difficult to write than the novels?

No.  The opposite was true.  I actually sat down and wrote the first draft in two days.  Of course, there were several revisions and additions between that first draft and the final eBook.  I think the main reason why it seemed easier to write, is because it’s the same advice I’ve been giving authors face-to-face or in online communities for a while.

One of the most interesting things about writing this book was that I had to question some of my own approaches to marketing.  Before I suggest this to someone else, was this really successful for me?

5.  So, what’s next for Karen Baney?  Fiction?  Another book for authors?

I’m not sure.  I have a few other ideas on books that fit into my mantra of teaching authors the “business of writing”.  But, I also have a half-finished manuscript for the first book in a three book historical series.  We’ll just have to wait and see which one wins. J

Best-selling self-published author, Karen Baney, enjoys sharing information to help authors learn about the Business of Writing.  She holds a Masters of Business Administration from Arizona State University and has worked in various business related career fields for the past 20 years.  She writes Christian Historical Fiction and Contemporary Romance novels.  To learn more about her novels visit her website:  karenbaney.com.  Authors can find tips and information on self-publishing and marketing at:  www.myauthorservices.com.

Karen and her husband, Jim, also run several online businesses.  They make their home in Gilbert, AZ, with their two dogs.

 

Connect with Karen on Twitter, Facebook, and Google+.

3 thoughts on “10 Keys to Ebook Marketing Success: Interview with Author Karen Baney

  1. Pingback: The Perks of Being an ePublished Author « Kimber Vale

Leave a Reply

