The Earth Painter Review

Okay.  I know that I rarely do reviews on my blog, but here this one is.  I will be doing a few through the next month or two, but these ARE NOT SOLICITED!  They are because I WANT to review them on my blog.  So, for the record, I am NOT TAKING review requests at the moment.  Way too busy for that.

e3a6857c949bfbb5b060d51748df97825d5efb3b

About the book:

When a self-conscious young woman discovers the boy in drama class is actually the immortal who painted the world into being, she becomes the target of another painter who hates humanity. The Earth Painter is a Young Adult Supernatural Romance set in the small mill town of Chesnee, SC. It revolves around Holly Scruggs, whose family has just moved back to Chesnee after her dad lost his job along with pretty much everything they owned. Her image conscious parents correct her to the point of brokenness until she meets Theo. He is the artist responsible for all the beauty of the land and he thinks Holly is beautiful too. Together they will fight against Fritz, the water painter who hates humans and is hiding a secret under the high school.

Now, Review time!!!

5 out of 5 stars

Okay, so this book wasn’t something I was entirely sure about reading at first, but as a YA fiction lover, I gave it a chance, and I DO NOT regret it! 

You’ve read the blurb, so I won’t go into all of those nitpicky details.  What I will tell you is that I could not stop reading this book until I was finished.  I’ll tell you, my schedule is normally so busy that I don’t make the time to read like I should.  So, when I actually do read novels, they have to be the type that I don’t want to stop reading.  Melissa Turner Lee has written such a book.

I loved the characters too.  Holly cannot see her own worth, but Theo, the world painter, sees nothing but beauty.  So, this novel just isn’t about a good story, it’s about helping young girls, who so often feel ugly and worth nothing, feel beautiful, worth something.  There is beauty in all of the world, and for Holly, it took a world painter to just see that.

And Holly, she has a rough life.  Her mom is always telling her that she doesn’t fit the world’s idea of beauty, her only friend turns against her, and she’s falling for an immortal that she cannot be with.

Oh, and was I ever rooting for this couple!  Even though they can’t be together, they should!  I wanted them to just kiss.  And when they kissed, I wasn’t disappointed about the kiss.  I was disappointed that the book ended and I didn’t have book two to read! 

Again, this book is worth more than I can say about it.  You have to experience the story to completely understand just how amazing it is!

Amazon Buy Link

Leave a Reply

