#Interview with #Author Andrea Buginsky

Blog Tour Button(1)

Hey guys!  A little while ago I shared with you the cover reveal for Andrea Buginsky’s new YA Fantasy, Destiny.  Well, Andi’s back, and today, we’re picking her brain a little about writing, her book, and more!

Hi, Andi, well, Andrea! Welcome to my blog! How about you tell my followers a little about yourself?

Hi Emerald! Thanks so much for having me here. I’m a freelance writer with a BA in Journalism. After college, I decided I wanted to write a book. I tried my hand at an adult romance, but really couldn’t it get it anywhere. Then I was watching a fantasy movie and decided that’s what I wanted to write. I also decided I wanted to write for teens. I came up with the idea for THE CHOSEN, my first book. I was thrilled when it was published! I kept working on that series, wrote an autobiography about growing up with heart disease in between, and then started the NEW AVALON series. I’m so excited to debut DESTINY today!

Congratulations on your new release. What’s it about?

Elena is about to turn 16, only she’s not like other 16-year-olds. She’s very shy and doesn’t have many friends. She is very close to her family, and they have a small dinner celebration for her birthday. But it’s unlike any other birthday she’s had when she learns the truth about her heritage, and that she has the power of telekinesis. Her adventure is only beginning on her birthday. Where her destiny takes her is farther than she ever thought possible.

How did writing this novel differ from your other releases? Which did you like writing the most?

I’ve learned a lot more about writing since working on THE CHOSEN. I also learned that for your book to be considered YA, it’s better to make your protagonist a teenager, so I did. I got into Elena’s head and heart, which wasn’t very hard to do, and wrote her story from her point of view.

What’s the best part about writing young adult fiction to you? I know that I love re-living first kisses and feeling young again when reading/writing YA.

For me, I enjoy watching the characters I write about grow. That’s what my books are all about: the protagonist finding their inner hero, and embracing it. I love that part of my stories. I believe all teens, whether they are the most popular or the wallflower, have a moment when they finally find themselves and come into their own.

Do you plan on writing YA for a while or do you want to branch into the adult fiction?

Yes, I definitely want to continue writing YA and MG. I don’t see myself switching to adult fiction.

Okay, lastly. What is your favorite writing/editing snack?

LOL I don’t think I have one. I usually just grab whatever I have in the house that’s convenient. However, if I have chips, I will grab those first.

Thanks for joining us, Andi! Where can we follow you and keep up with your book updates?

Facebook

Twitter

Google+

Pinterest

Website/Blog

Thank you, Emerald. I enjoyed visiting your blog today.

Now, Enter the Giveaway!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Visit More Stops on the Destiny Blog Tour!

Emerald Barnes 9/16/2013 Interview
Wayne Murphy 9/17/2013 Excerpt
A.R. Silverberry 9/18/2013 Interview
Tammy Hall 9/19/2013 Review/Promo
Sharon Martin 9/20/2013 Promo
Laurie Jenkins 9/21/2013 Author Spotlight/Character Interview
Vincent Morrone 9/22/2013 Guest Post
JLB Creatives Blog 9/23/2013 Interview
Sheenah Freitas 9/24/2013 Guest Post
James DiBenedetto 9/25/2013 Guest Post
Sheila Deeth 9/26/2013 Guest Post
Lisa Day 9/27/2013 Author Spotlight
Alexia Boesen 9/28/2013 Review
Bonnie Trachtenberg 9/29/2013 Guest Post

More about Destiny:

destiny

Constantly teased and taunted by the popular girls, Elena Baxter desperately wants to fit in. On her sweet

sixteenth, she receives two shocking gifts: telekinesis and the surprising truth about her heritage. With high hopes that things will be different now, Elena returns to school to find that nothing has changed. Only this time her hurt feelings and frustration boil into something even she cannot understand.

When her

powers explode, chaos ensues and she learns that her new ability is greater than she ever desired. As she learns to control her powers, Elena discovers there’s so much more to her heritage than she ever imagined.

Get it on Amazon now!

About Andrea:andrea buginsky

Andrea Buginsky is a freelance writer and author. “The Chosen,” a middle-grade fantasy novelette, was her first book, and was followed by “My Open Heart,” an autobiography about growing up with heart disease. “Nature’s Unbalance” is the second story in THE CHOSEN series. Andrea is currently working on another series: a YA fantasy. To learn more about Andrea, visit her on her website.

3 thoughts on “#Interview with #Author Andrea Buginsky

  1. Pingback: Blitz: Destiny (Avalone #1) by Andrea Buginsky | Why I Can't stop Reading

Leave a Reply

