Titles: Make them catchy; make them smart.

So, as you know from my previous post, I’m writing a short story set between Entertaining Angels and Entertaining Angels book two. What you don’t know is the title. Well, me either, so I’m in good company!

Titles can be the hardest thing for me to come up, but sometimes, it’s also easy. Entertaining Angels came easily. Read Me Dead didn’t. Piercing Through the Darkness came easy, as well. Entertaining Angels short story – no, not easy. Entertaining Angels book two, may as well be titled book two! I can’t think of anything!

And everyone LOVES Read Me Dead’s title. Yeah. It’s a great title, but I spent AGES wracking my brain trying to think of the best title that would work. It had at least ten different titles before Read Me Dead happened.

But, it’s important to get the right title. I’ve been thinking about this a lot as I’m trying to come up with some titles for my books. (Well, I usually spend a lot of time thinking about these things when I don’t have a titled story or book.) Point is, a title needs to be super catchy. Because really, the first two things that people are going to notice is the title and the cover. From there, they will read the synopsis and decide whether to buy or not.

So, you need something good when coming up with a title, and I’m trying to keep that in mind as I title my short story and book two. I have a few ideas for the short story, but I’m still thinking on them.

**Update** I have thought of a title for the short story since I wrote this yesterday. It’s “Before We Say ‘I Do.” And I’m also in search of beta readers. So if you loved Entertaining Angels and you like to beta read, message me!

Anyway, that’s just a small little update of mine. Any ideas from you guys on what makes a good title? Sound off in the comments! I’d love to hear them.

 

7 thoughts on “Titles: Make them catchy; make them smart.

  1. Titles need to be catchy, obviously, but how to make a catchy title? No idea, lol. One thing I do know is that I hate those one-word titles that a lot of supernatural YA books have these days. Rapture, Oblivion, Surrender, blah blah blah. I’ll never remember which one is which. A title I actually really liked was Hush Hush — didn’t care much for the story, but the title was really fun, because it sounded so eerie. I definitely could have seen that title on a horror or a mystery or something, not a YA story about fallen angels.

    Like

    1. I didn’t even know that was about fallen angels. Lol I liked the title too, but I thought it was about something else. I’m okay with one word titles, but you’re right. They can get confusing. I guess when it comes to coming up with a title it just has to hit you just right, and you know that’s the title. That’s what happened with the short story title.

      Like

    2. I’m with you on the one-word title thing, Michelle, mostly because I feel it’s so hard — nigh impossible, in many cases — to perfectly capture the unique essence of a book in a single word. …said the author of INSPIRED, pah-hahahaha. That title’s an exception for me, though!

      Like

  2. Ali

    As a reader, I am usually drawn to a books by the title if it is ethereal-like or different. Another thing that I would have to say would be to choose a title that pertains and sums up your book. For example, I’ve seen some authors use titles that didn’t fit the book at all. Lastly, I would have to say that one to two word titles are best (sometimes three). If there are anymore, readers usually will abbreviate the titles or end up forgetting them. Plus, for those that judge books by their covers, a five-worded-title isn’t too snazzy looking on a cover.🙂 Good luck with your title, Emerald!

    Like

Leave a Reply

