To Read a Novella or Not To Read (or write one for that matter)

With the popularity of self-publishing and Indie authors, I’ve noticed that shorter reads, i.e. short stories, novelettes and novellas, have risen in popularity. It’s also gaining traction in the traditional world, as well. Think Keira Cass and the chick who wrote Dorothy Must Die. (I cannot for the life of me remember her name at the moment.) They have been writing prequels and follow-up stories to their ever so popular series. I, for one, love them!

Let me explain from two different point of views. The writer and the reader. I’ll start with the reader perspective.

As a reader, I love them because we get to see more of the world that we’ve fallen in love with when otherwise we might not have. Sure, they’re short, but it’s more than what we had, and I think that’s something to be grateful for.

Also, when you’re pressed for time, it’s nice to have something that you can devour rather quickly. I mean, short stories can take only thirty minutes to read, if you’re a fast reader, and you can read it during a break or something, to get in a little more reading.

So, they’re pretty convenient, and we get to see more of the worlds we fell in love with.

As a writer, they’re really convenient to write. Like with my short story, Before We Say I Do, I got to visit Mads and Chase and tell something I would have skipped over in book two. I was happy to spend a little more time with them, and I hope my readers are, too! I thoroughly enjoyed sharing their union when I wouldn’t have gotten to write it.

They’re, also, pretty quick to write. If you know where you’re going and you can sit down and write, you can have a novella written in less than a month. You know, if you have the time.

So basically, there you have it. It’s pretty much the same as a writer and reader as to why I like shorter reads. What about you? Are you adverse to either reading or writing them? Do you think that we should leave the market open for novels? Or do you like them? Prefer them, even? I’d like to know considering I have plans to write a few novellas!😉

4 thoughts on “To Read a Novella or Not To Read (or write one for that matter)

  1. My writing leans toward the shorter side, meaning that most of the projects I used to think of as novels were actually novellas. As far as reading goes, if the story touches my heart in the right place, I love it, no matter the size. (:

    Like

  2. I absolutely love novellas & short stories *if* they connect to a larger world. Like you said – it gives us a chance to see more of a world we love. But I don’t tend to read stand-alone novellas or short-stories. I prefer the depth of a full novel and most stand-alone novellas leave me feeling incomplete.

    (Example: I have a friend who loves the Love Inspired romantic novellas. I’ve read several she loved just so we could discuss them – I’ve only encountered one so far that didn’t leave me feeling like the romance was too fast and shallow and the conflict manufactured and silly.)

    One recent trend that I think worked for a while but is starting to frustrate readers is the self-published authors who don’t even complete a novel but chop their “epic” into incomplete chunks and sell it as individual novellas. I’ve seen several reviewers express frustration at buying incomplete stories that sometimes can even feel designed to string readers along to maximize sales.

    As a writer, I have an incredibly difficult time coming up with ideas for shorter stories. It’s actually my big goal this year – to flex my literary muscles a bit by forcing myself to write some short stories and flash fiction.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I can understand that. Most people feel the same way, I think. I wish I had lengthened Piercing Through the Darkness, but I didn’t. I still plan on writing a stand-alone Christmas novella, though. It’s for a box set, so there’s more to read than just my book.

      Like

Leave a Reply

