Character Interview: Crystal Frost of Fire in Frost by Alicia Rades

Hi! I’m excited to have a few of one of my friend’s, Alicia Rades, characters on the blog today! I read Crystal Frost a few months ago, and it was amazing! I was proofreading it, but I had a hard time putting it down! I loved the paranormal aspects brought into the book, and it’s a really good YA novel! (A 4 star read!) Oh, did I mention that it’s free until Friday?!

So, let’s give a big welcome to Emma and Crystal!

Emma: Crystal, I have a few questions readers want to know about Fire in Frost. Are you up for it?

Crystal: *sigh* It’s always something with you, Emma, but yes, I’ll gladly answer their questions.

Emma: Okay. First question: What is your story about?

Crystal: That’s an easy one, but I don’t know if I should say. After all, it is a secret.

Emma: Just answer the question, Crystal. It’s for the readers.

*Pause*                                 

Crystal: Okay, but I’m only doing this because you’re my best friend. Well, my story starts on the anniversary of Olivia Owen’s death. I saw her three times before I found out I wasn’t actually going crazy! I thought for sure they were going to cart me off to the mental institution if anyone found out I was seeing her. But it turns out my mom knows all about this stuff, which is crazy. I always thought Divination—her Halloween-themed shop—was just for fun. Turns out there’s so much more truth behind it than anyone thought.

Emma: How did it feel when you found out your mom was psychic, too?

Crystal: Honestly? I was relieved! I felt like I had someone to support me, and it was comforting to know I wasn’t going crazy. I was also kind of hurt that she’d never told me about it before.

Emma: Why didn’t she tell you?

Crystal: Well, my mom had it kind of tough growing up. Every time she’d told someone about her abilities, they’d shut her out. She just wanted me to live a normal life without people bullying me for believing in—or practicing—the supernatural. She didn’t even think I had any abilities.

Emma: And what was her reaction when she found out that you did?

Crystal: Honestly, I think she was a little relieved, too. On one level, she acted like she was sorry I inherited her gift and had to face it, but more than that, I think she was excited to share it with me. You should have seen her the first day we practiced together!

Emma: *laughs* I would have liked to see that. The next reader’s question is, “How do you see yourself, and how does that differ from the way the author sees you?”

Crystal: Mm… That’s a tough one. I guess I see myself as pretty average, but I know I have a little trouble finding confidence in myself. It really helps that I have your support and my mom’s, and even Derek’s, even though he’s still a bit of a skeptic. I think Alicia sees me as more than that. Is it weird that I feel totally supported by her, too? I think Alicia has more confidence in me and maybe thinks I’m more confident than I really am. I think she always knows that I’ll face my abilities head-on and figure things out even when I’m unsure if I can do that myself.

Emma: Interesting… So, what do you think Alicia thinks of me?

Crystal: What? That’s not an actual reader question, is it? She probably agrees with me that you’re obnoxious!

Emma: *laughs* I was just kidding. Okay, the next real question is, “What, if anything, haunts you?”

Crystal: You’re joking, right? Well, Olivia Owen for one. *laughs* I don’t really think that’s what the question means, though. I guess my father’s death still gets to me. I know he died nearly 10 years ago, but sometimes I just wish he was still around.

Emma: Speaking of father figures, what do you think of Teddy?

Crystal: I love my mom’s boyfriend! He doesn’t replace my dad or anything, but he’s fun to be around, and he’s surprisingly supportive of all of this, too.

Emma: You said your mom was bullied for her abilities. Have you ever been bullied because of it?

Crystal: Actually, no. Everyone who has found out so far has been very supportive. I can hardly believe it.

Emma: So, will there be a sequel to Fire in Frost?

Crystal: Yep! There are two more in the works, but they’ll each work as stand-alone novels. I’ll just be a part of all of them.

Emma: Me too, right?

Crystal: Yes, you too.

Emma: Who would you recommend this book to?

Crystal: Any reader who loves young adult paranormal! The book is appropriate for readers 12 and up, but they’ll really have to read it for themselves to see if they like it!

Emma: Where can people pick up a copy of Fire in Frost?

Crystal: It’s currently available on Amazon in Kindle and print.

Emma: Thank you for answering our readers’ questions, Crystal!

Crystal: Anytime.

 

Thanks for joining us, ladies! For more about the book, check it out!

FireinFrost(2)Crystal Frost has spent her whole life believing she’s ordinary, and her mother has long held the secret of her heritage. When Crystal begins seeing the ghost of a dead classmate, her life spirals out of control. She’s faced with the threat that everyone will find out she’s a freak, as if the struggle to figure out her new-found abilities wasn’t enough pressure. Crystal has to find some way to save the people who have come to her for help all while trying to keep her abilities a secret. Will she be able to fulfill these overwhelming demands while solving the mystery that is the ghost of Olivia Owen?

 

 

alicia radesAlicia Rades is a freelance writer, blogger, and editor. When inspiration strikes, she is also an author. Alicia has been captivated by the YA paranormal and supernatural genre since reading The Seer series by Linda Joy Singleton when she was 12 years old. Fire in Frost was born out of the love for the genre and is Alicia’s first full-length novel. In college, Alicia majored in professional writing. Alicia lives in Wisconsin with her husband and too many fish to count.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Character Interview: Crystal Frost of Fire in Frost by Alicia Rades

Leave a Reply

