A letter to my younger self

I was on Facebook the other day and saw this picture:

10403093_10152628344540737_3634098631063609189_n

People were saying things like, “Buy Apple Stock” “Graduate high school” “Respect Yourself”

All of those are great things! Especially the apple stock.πŸ˜‰ Just kidding! Maybe. But my answer was “Love Yourself,” but after thinking about it, I would probably write a longer letter to myself. Something I wish I had learned when I was sixteen, probably earlier. So, here it is, a letter to my younger self.

Dear younger me,

I know you’re probably crushing on some guy but think you don’t have a chance with them. Let me tell you something, don’t worry about those guys. If they can’t see you for how beautiful and awesome you really are, you don’t need them. Don’t laugh. I’m being serious. You don’t have to settle for someone because you’re afraid no one can love you for who you are. You’re beautiful, and you deserve a good man. Wait for him. It’s hard, but I know it’ll be worth it. (BTW, still waiting.)

Live life. Don’t be afraid to speak your mind. Don’t be afraid to love. Don’t be afraid of anything. God is for you, no one can be against you.

You’re meant for great things. You’ll struggle to find that greatness, but remember that God’s timing is always perfect. He knows what you need when you need it, don’t push Him.

You’ll make mistakes, but the lessons you learn from these mistakes are invaluable. They push you to be a better person, but don’t let them tear you down. Remember, if God can forgive you, you can forgive yourself. Just do it.

I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again. You’re beautiful. You’ll learn this lesson, but until you do, try to see yourself as God sees you. It will be easier for you in the long run.

Everything happens for a reason. Don’t let it get you down. Just brush off the dust and keep going. You’ll be fine.

Life is hard. You’ll scream; you’ll cry; you’ll beg for help. But, you’ll laugh; you’ll smile; you’ll help others. What you’re going through will be fuel. You can change the world if only you believe in yourself.

You’re loved. You’re loved by your family and friends, and most importantly, by God. Now, you just have to love yourself.

Be kind to yourself. Be kind to others. Shoot for the moon and reach for your dreams.

Life is too beautiful to hate. Live a beautiful life.

Sincerely,

Future Me

What would you say to your future self?

4 thoughts on “A letter to my younger self

  1. Pingback: How Do You Know If You Matter To You? | APreachasKid

  2. Pingback: Cryptoquote Spoiler – 09/03/15 | Unclerave's Wordy Weblog

Leave a Reply

