Valentine’s Day for Singles. #loveyourself

I’m single. That’s probably no surprise to my normal followers. I post single stuff all the time on my Facebook and Twitter, and I’m perfectly cool being single. I love being single. It’s fantastic. Don’t get me wrong, I want to be in a relationship, but the right man is worth waiting for. And until he shows up, I’ll be totally content focusing on my career as an author, proofreader, and editor and loving on my nieces and nephews.

So, the other day on my accounts, I posted this meme I created. (Feel free to share it if you wish.)

Celebrate You

The thing about this meme, though, is how accurate it is. We forget that just because we’re single we can actually celebrate this holiday for lovers. To me, learning to fall in love with who you are is just as important as showing someone else how much you love them. Why? Because it’s important to know just how awesome you are, and once you know how awesome you are, you’ll see people in a different light. To me, once I started seeing the beauty of me, it was so much easier to see the beauty of the world in a different light. It pushed me to help those who couldn’t see how wonderful they were to see the same. I think that once we can fully love ourselves, being in a relationship is easier because we aren’t seeking any kind of validation from the other person. If they can’t accept us for who we are, we don’t need that kind of negativity and can end the relationship before it really harms us more and destroys what confidence we have in ourselves in the end. (This is a vicious cycle I had to end in my own relationships, and that’s partially why I’m not actively seeking someone to date.)

It’s also no surprise that I’m an advocate of loving yourself and feeling beautiful in your own skin. (Although, I don’t want to beat you over the head with this message. That’s not my intention.) I just think that instead of being sad on Valentine’s Day because we are single, we should celebrate ourselves. After all, being single means that we have this incredible opportunity to celebrate who we are: our careers, our families, what matters most to us, our wonderful selves in general. We can focus on different things. In my case, I’ll be spending this holiday in church with my family, and I’ll celebrate the love that I have for my nieces and nephews instead of worrying about how single I am and how I’ll never find the love of my life. I don’t want to have a pity party. I’m just going to have a party.

We are important, and I’m not sure we all understand that fully. Our lives are important to others, and it should be important to us. What makes you you should be celebrated, and that starts with how you see yourself.

So I urge you to take this holiday and not focus on your love life or lack thereof. Instead, focus on YOU and being the best version of you that you can be. That means loving you for everything, including your “flaws” and all. (And, I don’t believe in flaws. I think what makes us unique is what makes us beautiful.)

#loveyourself because you deserve it.

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Valentine’s Day for Singles. #loveyourself

Leave a Reply

