A God Reflection: Guest Post by Tabitha Caplinger

Today, I’m thrilled to have Tabitha Caplinger on the blog. She’s an amazing human being, extremely talented, and loves to empower others! Let’s give her a warm welcome!

All through high school I could fit in the lockers. Don’t worry, no one ever pushed me into one or anything, but I could have fit quite comfortably if they did. I was small, like really small, in every way. I was short. I was skinny. I had a hard time finding clothes that fit me that weren’t still from the children’s section. (Thank the Lord for me being alive during the grunge phase when I could wear loose ripped jeans and flannels.)

Until my senior year, and even some days then, I didn’t feel like people saw me for my real age. I was in a perpetual state of looking twelve until I was twenty-two. (Now that I’m in my thirties I yearn for that problem but at the time it wasn’t as fun as you would imagine.)

That was my thing then, feeling like I looked like a kid, a skinny, lanky kid when I wanted to look like a blossoming young woman. On my bad days now I still feel too skinny. (I get that some people may not understand skinny as being a problem but it’s my thing.)

In the end it isn’t about a perfect weight, or height. It isn’t about your skin or hair or teeth. It’s not even about the clothes you wear. We all have our thing. We all have that part of us that we see in the mirror and it makes us feel like we aren’t enough. Not pretty enough, not smart enough, not athletic enough, not trendy enough…I could go on.

old-room-1210117_960_720

Let me tell you a little secret…your mirror lies. Well, maybe the mirror doesn’t lie but your reflection sure does. It tells you things that aren’t true. It tells you that you have to compare yourself to others, that that is how you will feel enough. Lies. All lies.

Its time you stop listening to them.

I know what you’re thinking…How? Why? Help!

First let me tell you the why.

You have to stop believing the lies that culture is speaking through your reflection because you have a purpose and you can’t attain it if you can’t see yourself for who you really are. If you are so caught up in judgments based on shallow illusions and unrealistic comparisons than you will never let yourself believe you can be all that God wants you to be. You may start out strong but if you don’t take captive (1 Corinthians 10:5) that internal dialogue it will eventually slow you down and stop you. Those external voices that you let rule your mind will become too loud.

So now for the how.

How do I stop letting my reflection lie to me? You get a new reflection.

I know I know, if it were only that easy we wouldn’t have self image issues. But I’m not talking about major plastic surgery or funhouse mirrors. I’m talking about seeing yourself in the mirror of God’s vision of you. I want you to get a God reflection of yourself.

You were beautifully and wonderfully made (Psalm 139:14). You are valuable. You have purpose. You are flawless in the sight of God (Song of Solomon 4:7). Flawless isn’t the same as perfect. None of us are perfect but we have a God that forgives sin and chooses to see the best in us. We need to start seeing what He sees. The only way you can do that is to know what He sees and that comes from knowing Him personally, intimately.

I can tell you over and over again what God thinks about you, but until you get it through your head, down to your heart and rooted deep inside your spirit it won’t change what you see in the mirror. But when you choose to get to know God, to spend time daily with the lover of your soul, your Creator, and learn to hear His voice then His voice will become louder than the noise.

The noise will still be there, a constant muffled backdrop to your thoughts, always trying to worm its way back in. You probably won’t ever be able to completely silence it, but you can learn to tune it out and focus on the only voice that has earned the right to define you, the voice of your Maker.

The more you are able to see yourself the way the God sees you the more you will believe the plan He has for your life. You will be able to walk confidently into the future He has chosen for you and chosen you for. Knowing #YouAreBeautiful will open the door wide for you to #LiveChosen. Knowing your worth will make you unstoppable in your purpose.

PS: I didn’t forget the help part. I included some Bible verses above that are awesome Scriptures to start tuning your mind to the right radio dial. Here are more to help you see your value and purpose. These are just to get you started. Find your own verses, passages that remind you of who you are and Who’s you are. Write them down on your bathroom mirror, your compact, make them the lock screen of your phone. Every time your mind starts to get noisy take a look at them to regain your focus. And find girlfriends that will keep you encouraged.

ABOUT Tabitha Caplinger:

Tabitha Caplinger has been in student ministry for close to 15 years, and currently pastors at Faith Community Church in House Springs, Missouri with her husband Brian. They have two sassy daughters, Lila and Rory. Student Ministry is core to who Tabitha is; she loves discipling others and helping them see themselves through Jesus’ eyes. Her goal is for every young woman to be confident that, “she is loved more than she will ever know by someone who died to know her.”

When not working, Tabitha and her family like taking in a good movie or walking through the park. She also admits to being a little obsessed with TV.

Connect with Tabitha online:

Facebook: Tabitha Caplinger

Twitter: @pastortabitha

http://www.tabithacaplinger.com

Visit Tabitha Caplinger on Goodreads

Leave a Reply

