Unleash the kraken! (Or your arms and legs)

No, this post isn’t about being immodest. I’m a firm believer in modesty. To me, the goodies should be covered, and that’s all I’m gonna say on that…

Summer is in full swing here in Mississippi and if you’ve never felt the Mississippi heat, count yourself lucky. We’ve already reached temperatures that feel like 110°F, and it’s still early Summer. July and August are AWFUL! We’ve had days that felt 120°F and hotter. Yet, I refuse to wear shorts. Yep. It’s true. I’m ashamed of my legs. In fact, I hate them. I can’t even remember the last time I wore shorts. Maybe the 6th grade? It wasn’t until three or four years ago that I even began wearing sleeveless tops. It’s true. I hated my arms too. At times, I still do.

About two months ago, I made the rash decision to buy myself a pair of shorts. I don’t know why I did it, but I did. I mean, it’s flippin’ hot, and when you wear jeans in 120°, it’s even hotter.

We put limits on what we can and can’t wear as big girls, skinny girls, average girls, whatever your body size. There’s always something that is holding us back from wearing things that will make use comfortable. Geez, there’s no need to wear something made for winter-time just because we hate our bodies. It’s time to get over it! I know it’s hard, but we can’t spend our lives hiding ourselves because we fear what others might say.

You are not the enemy 2

I’m tired of hiding. I’m tired of hating myself. I’m just plain ole tired. I want to wear shorts, even if it means showing my pasty white, chubby legs, and I will. I see all of these cute, brave women baring their legs and arms. (And sometimes more…) I’m happy that they’re brave. I’m happy that they’re breaking stereotypes and dealing with hatred from others (which is uncalled for), so why can’t I be that brave? Why am I scared to put on a pair of shorts?

I teach people to love themselves, to love their bodies, yet I’m terrified of a pair of shorts! So, this Summer, I’ve decided to bare the legs. There’s this meme that goes around Facebook that says, “Ways to have a bikini body, put on a bikini.” Well, I guess I’ll have a shorts body and put on shorts. It’s time to stop hiding and being uncomfortable because I fear what others might say about me.

Do I wish my legs looked different? Yes. Is there something I can do, yes, but in the meantime, I’ll wear the shorts and tanks. I’m going to learn to love myself even if it kills me! I’m kidding of course. It won’t kill me.😉

Have a happy and safe summer, guys! Don’t be afraid to love yourself as you are. You are beautiful!

6 thoughts on “Unleash the kraken! (Or your arms and legs)

Leave a Reply

