God wants you to know you’re beautiful.

That’s been my thing lately, sharing posts and Bible verses to hopefully get people to know and understand that they are beautiful. That God loves them no matter what they think about themselves, no matter what they’ve done. Yet, somehow, I’ve forgotten to remind myself of that.

The week before last, I couldn’t look in a mirror without thinking about the things I wanted to change. I couldn’t say a prayer without asking God to help me lose weight, to help me look better. I tried to play it off as wanting to be healthier (which I do honestly want), but deep down, I knew it was because of my looks, because of the fat on my body. I didn’t want it anymore. I didn’t want to look like me. What scares me most is that I didn’t even realize what I’d been doing until last Sunday.

I know what you must be thinking. How can we trust this girl who can’t even trust herself when it comes to spreading this important message?

Everyone has a weak moment (or two). I have more than I like to admit. So, trust me when I say that this is an uphill battle. Sometimes you slip and fall, but sometimes the trail is easy. The past few weeks I’ve slipped.

I don’t like admitting it. I want you all to think I’m perfect and I don’t struggle with this. But we all know that’s not the case. None of us are perfect, especially me. I would love to change a lot about myself, but I first have to remember who I am, what type of woman I am, and Who loves me.

I was reminded of that last Sunday. I was worshiping God during our worship service when a lovely lady from my church walked up to me and said one sentence, “God wants you to know you’re beautiful.”

God wants you to know you're beautiful.

I knew that. I knew He thought it, but I had forgotten it. When she told me this, it just hit me, an overwhelming knowledge that God would do anything to get my attention and let me know that He loved me and thought I was beautiful.

I’ve had to have many of the meetings with God because I let the world, Satan, and myself get in the way. This wasn’t the first time that He had to get my attention, and it shouldn’t be that way. I should know better. I should do better.

But I’m human, and luckily, God knows that. He understands that, but it’s my job-it’s our job-to try and fix how we see ourselves. Not fix ourselves but how we see ourselves. We don’t have to be content trying to fix every little thing about us, though I’m not saying that you can’t change. I just want you to know that obsessing over our size, our looks, etc is doing us more harm than realizing that God loves us for who we are.

I’m not sure when or how I’ll fix how I see myself, but what I do know is that God loves me as I am, and that is all that matters.

God loves you as you are and thinks you’re beautiful, too. Let’s try and not forget about that. Take that uphill journey one cautious step at a time, but we have to take it. We have to do it. Not for anyone else but for you, for God.

 

2 thoughts on “God wants you to know you’re beautiful.

Leave a Reply

