Hello. My Name Is…

First, let me preface this by apologizing for taking so long to write up a new blog post. My life has been one crazy ride after another, but all in a good way. I want to give you a few updates before going into what this post is about.

In the middle of September, I was asked to be one of the youth leaders at my church, which I accepted. Because, well, if you know me and my writing, you’ll know that I want to help make a difference in people’s lives, especially teens. I’ve felt a calling to work with teens in some way, and I know this was all God. Right now, though, my co-youth leader and I are only teaching a handful of teens, but I’m excited about the possibilities. We have room for growth, and I’m praying that it does just that.

Just last week, my 3rd nephew in the line of 6 nieces and nephews was born. He’s healthy and beautiful, and my heart is full.❤

Also, I’ve been working on The Marked, which is coming along well. I just finished line edits. I’m not sure if this was mentioned on my blog, but Clean Reads has picked up that book, and I’m super thrilled to be working with them!

I’ve also been writing my next book The Healer. It’s been a difficult book to write, but that’s because the subject matter is so much unlike anything I’ve ever written. And I have to get the dates and backstory right or it won’t work. So I’ve been editing while writing, and it’s making the process slower.

Okay, now, on to what this post is about.


When I taught the first class to the small group of teens, I asked them this. What all have you been called? I wanted them to tell me negative identifiers that others, and themselves, had said about them.

We got the typical answers: fat, dumb, too tall, too short, too skinny.

Just like in my Entertaining Angels series, I turned it around and showed them what God said about them.

You’re beautiful. You’re perfect. You’re smart. You’re God’s. You’re loved.

Too often, we let the lies of the world, our peers, satan tell us who we are when we should be listening to what the Word is saying about us. What others say doesn’t define us. They shouldn’t at least, but we let them. We take these words and let them sink in until they become part of us, and that is when we start believing it about ourselves.

Proverbs 23:7 says, “For as he thinks in his heart, so is he…”

What do you believe about yourself? Do you believe the lies? Have you given in to them? I have, and it’s something I regret. I don’t want that for any of you. I want you to know that you are beautiful, loved, and worthy.

God has a purpose for you, and you wouldn’t be here if there wasn’t some purpose for it. We can’t let the lies of satan and the world keep us from living up to our full potential.

You are loved! You are blessed! You are a Child of God! That is all that you should think, so when these lies come at you, knock them down and remind yourself who you are!

Here are some reminders!

1.) You were fearfully and wonderfully made! Psalm 139:13-14

Before we were born, God created us wonderfully. You’re wonderful! If God didn’t want you her, He wouldn’t have create you, but He wants you and He loves you!

Also see Jeremiah 1:5.

2.) You are loved! John 3:16

As we just said, God knew you before you were born. He created you wonderfully, and He loves you. In fact, He loves you so much that He sent His Son to earth as a human where His purpose was to die for you. Is there anyone you would die for? That–and more–is how much your Savior loves you.

3.) You’re an heir!

Romans 8:15-17; Galatians 3:13,14, 29

When you receive the Spiriat and are saved, you become God’s child. If you’re God’s child, then you are an heir! Whatever is God’s becomes yours including His authority and His riches! You are a princess (or prince) now! And just like your earthly parents (or someone who loves you like a parent), God wants to give you everything He has!

4.) You are worthy!

Luke 15:18-24

No matter how worthless you feel, how many mistakes you might have made, you are worthy. Just like the prodigal son, no matter what you’ve done, God will still welcome you back. You don’t have to be a servant because you will always be an heir, and God will always love you!

5.) You are precious and honored! Isaiah 43:4

Although God is talking about Israelites, once we are saved, we get those same promises that were promised to them. Once we become heirs with God, we become like the Israelites, and God has said that we’re precious and honored! That is evident by the love He has and continues to show us.

I just don’t want y’all to forget who you are. You’re an amazing human being and deserve to know that about yourself!


2 thoughts on “Hello. My Name Is…

  1. I love this so much, Emerald! So glad God is working through you with the youth in your church, and I am praying He continues to expand your ministry there.

    (P.S. My friend, RJ Conte, has two books with Clean Reads – Hotline Girl and 12th Girl in Heaven. Small world!)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

